65 Reviews and Replies for XOOM Energy

XOOM Energy Logo
URC#:

Category Average Rating
Pricing and Plans 1.91
Order Experience 2.03
Customer Service 1.78
Billing Quality 1.78
Likely to recommend? 1.52

Indiana Energy Ratings Score:

( 3 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low



This graph ranks Price, Plans, Promotion, Order Experience, Customer Service, Billing, Account Management, Likelihood to recommend and Overall score of XOOM Energy
XOOM Energy is a retail energy provider that offers electricity and natural gas service in select states. Service areas include California, Ohio, Connecticut, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Rhode Island, Texas, Virginia, Washington D.C., Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jersey, and New York.

Stay Away!!

(1 / 5)

  From one month to the next my bill doubled. Sorry....nothing we can do. I have been with them for years and obviously something was read wrong. All the summer months are comparable to last year until now and nobody seems to think that is a problem. I was told to call someone else but I pay them so why should I. Not going to stick around anymore. Another lost customer.

Dont do it
August 11th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Could not answer basic questions

(1.4 / 5)

  I tried to sign up with XOOM energy for natural gas in Georgia. I could not even get what should be simple questions answered from their customer service. I am glad I had questions during the signup. If I had to deal with their customer service after signing up I would have been sorry I switched.

GAGAS
August 11th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No happy at all they Charge to much

(1 / 5)

  I was with zoom for 6 years and was happy but now my bill is $110 for electricity and $74,09 just for delivery and I dont recommend this company anymore and never want to pay lots money go with zoom

Over charge
August 5th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst company

(1 / 5)

  Worst company ever, i regret going to this company. The price is high and no system, I cancelled My account with them, every week they keep on sending bills. That is crazy. 0 will be a score for them

Grace
July 12th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Initial rate is good then gotcha at renewal

(2.2 / 5)

  First, their website is not very user friendly. The initial 12 month price was the lowest so I signed up at $.39 per therm. At renewal, they offered $0.34 per therm online, but informed me that was for only new customers. The lowest they could offer an existing customer with an excellent repayment history was $0.46 per therm so I moved to Infinite at $0.37 per therm.

Jimmy
July 3rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Would not recommend

(1.2 / 5)

  I signed up with Xoom thru ACN (OMG what a waste of money), and I didn't have a single month that went without issues. I couldn't make a payment on their website, couldn't do automatic billing, couldn't reach them over the phone later in the day or over the weekend and their customer service overall is very poor. Shady business, shady website, shady payment management system.
Stay away

Marko
June 28th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This company is deceptive

(1 / 5)

  Buyer beware. I was supposed to be in a fixed rate plan (Lies) my bill was all over the place I've month it'll be $150 next month its close to $500! The company is not transparent with cost and fees and I was drooped into this garbage by a network marketing companies ACN! This is just a bunch of criminals! STAY AWAY FROM THEM!

Valencia
June 15th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Incredibly bad customer service

(2.6 / 5)

  I pay my bills on-line and always on-time. Due to a mix-up at their end, they thought I was delinquent, and mailed the disconnect notice to my home address. I was out-of-country, and my house/dog sitter did not open my mail. A e-mail would have reached me easily, but instead my service was shut off. I e-mailed proof of payments, and even sent an extra payment, so I had a credit balance. It still took two weeks to get reconnected. This was during winter, and my home had no heat and no hot water while someone tried to live there. Never again will I use Xoom!

Paul Springer
June 8th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst ever company

(1 / 5)

  Worst company ever .. charge high worst customer service... If you want to close your account... They will not send any confirmation and will charge you again for next month... I called about 5 times but still have not received my cancellation letter and they charged me the monthly bill.. and told me to call again.. please don't get it

Sobia
June 6th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Been a happy and satisfied customer of XOOM Energy since 2015

(5 / 5)

  Been happy and satisfied with the overall service and customer service interaction with Xoom Energy in Texas since being referred to them in 2015. I've continued to recommend them to my family and to several home buyer clients.

Robin
May 19th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ridiculous they made us change everything

(1 / 5)

  I am appalled by Xoom forcing every person that uses their service in Texas to change everything. And they only sent out a simple email that is easily lost with all the trash they send. I will never recommend Xoom to anyone ever again.

Dianna Hodgson
May 15th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dysfunctional, Incorrect Billing & No Customer service

(1 / 5)

  Ive been incorrectly billed from day 1. Their paper bill does not match the online bill ever - thats what one of their employees said to me - Rudy Aguila. I sent them a check on the first paper bill which was for the full amount of the bill. 3 weeks later Xoom has still not processed my payment. I was told to stop payment on the check and pay the bill online which I did. Then the next day Xoom attempted to process the check I had placed a stop payment on, and they charged me $25. Xoom told me to issue the stop payment - and then they charged me!
They told me they would issue a credit for $25 and they never did. Next month I pay my bill on their website. I pay the bill in full. Then I receive a bill showing another $25 fee carried over from prior month. I call customer no service, and I am told it will be corrected but its not. I filed complaints w the BBB and Georgia public service commission. Xoom has lied to the BBB Georgia public service commission and me. I have decided to switch carriers. Ive been in Georgia for 24 years and have never had a problem with any gas provider until Xoom came along. My recommendation is to steer clear of Xoom Energy! They have some kind of scam going on to try and boost their profits by deliberately not processing payments so they can charge late fees.

CK
May 15th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dysfunctional, Incorrect Billing & No Customer service

(1 / 5)

  Ive been incorrectly billed from day 1. Their paper bill does not match the online bill ever - thats what one of their employees said to me - Rudy Aguila. I sent them a check on the first paper bill which was for the full amount of the bill. 3 weeks later Xoom has still not processed my payment. I was told to stop payment on the check and pay the bill online which I did. Then the next day Xoom attempted to process the check I had placed a stop payment on, and they charged me $25. Xoom told me to issue the stop payment - and then they charged me!
They told me they would issue a credit for $25 and they never did. Next month I pay my bill on their website. I pay the bill in full. Then I receive a bill showing another $25 fee carried over from prior month. I call customer no service, and I am told it will be corrected but its not. I filed complaints w the BBB and Georgia public service commission. Xoom has lied to the BBB Georgia public service commission and me. I have decided to switch carriers. Ive been in Georgia for 24 years and have never had a problem with any gas provider until Xoom came along. My recommendation is to steer clear of Xoom Energy! They have some kind of scam going on to try and boost their profits by deliberately not processing payments so they can charge late fees.

CK
May 15th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY

(1.8 / 5)

  They have decent prices, but when a billing issue arose, I had to call 6 times and speak with 6 different people - they never followed up or kept track of open items. They would not let me discuss the billing issue with the billing department. I had to go through customer service reps who did not understand the situation. Eventually, I just had to give up and pay the extra charges even though they were wrong. I decided it was best to pay them the charges and then just never use them again, than keep arguing with customer reps on the phone that did not understand the issue. Would never use them again, even if they had the lowest therm rate.

Danielle
May 12th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't do it!!

(1 / 5)

  The worst criminals out there. Trust me. They WILL RIP YOU OFF. Duplicate charges, No customer service, No answer to E mails, Try calling them...Good luck getting anywhere. How (I'm in Texas) the state utilities commission allows these crooks to do business in the state tells me something is very fishy going on here. Trust me. Look elsewhere.

Don't do it!
April 22nd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They lost my check when they changed billing locations and charged me a late fee.

(1.4 / 5)

  I have never had any problems with any of my checks getting lost with my online bill pay. Xoom changed locations and they said I never sent in my payment (but I did). Then they said I would have to pay a late fee even though they understood that I sent in the payment. I complained and they said I would have to have my bank call them to verify it and then they might remove the $10 charge. When my bank called them, Xoom said they couldn't take the call on a recorded line and so the bank just gave me the money for the late fee just to simplify things for me and them. The customer service rep and the customer service manager acknowledged that even if it wasn't my fault, they didn't have the money so the charge would stand. I thought that this was very pore customer service and a huge waste of time.

Xoom Stinks
April 18th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Works perfect me and my families need.

(5 / 5)

  The process was simple to sign up and simple to choose the best plan. The company has been consistent and reliable.

Linda M.
April 11th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lies and trickery

(1.6 / 5)

  I was tricked into getting this service. I switched to lower my bill and my bill has steadily increased every month. Now that I have ran into financial hardship due to a loss of income, their only solution is to set up a payment plan that will only further increase my bill in a couple of days. I regret switching and I will be sure to tell everyone to stay away from this company.

AW
April 8th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Experience

(1 / 5)

  This company abuses customers. Customer service is appalling, when you ask to speak to a supervisor they don't serve you, they ignore the problems of payments. They do not care at all to give a quality service, just seek to charge and more nothing. My electricity consumption tripled unexpectedly because the meter was in poor condition, when they changed the meter, consumption normalized. Even knowing this, both XOOM and TNMP, which is the utility company, proceeded to collect the payment that was incorrect, unfortunately I have to spend my time bringing this company to court and, if possible, bringing this case to the news. Horrible experience.

Randy Caballero
April 4th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not sign up

(1 / 5)

  Worst experience ever. Would recommend NOT to waste your time with this company. Their initial rates looked cheaper than other gas & electric companies. After signing up I never received the confirmation email so I called in to make sure the utilities would be set up, as I was moving into a new house the following week. 3 separate calls & each time I got the run around. NOBODY there knows anything that's going on and got completely different answers from all the reps. Was told I had to contact the utility provider myself, so I did. After speaking with them they said xoom had not even sent any information to them all. This went on for almost a week, going back and forth with xoom. At this point I was 3 days away from my move in date with NO UTILITIES. The second last time I called to speak with someone to say it was urgent that I have this set up otherwise I cannot feasibly live in this home, they said my account was CANCELLED! They lastly said they can send off my information again to the utility providers which at that point I advised them to remove my information from any accounts, I probably still wouldn't have any gas or electricity if I continued with them. Afterwords I was contacted by a different rep begging me to be their customer and stated that they "have been doing this for quite some time and I dont have to worry." They continued to tell me lies to try to get me to rejoin, which I had caught them in at least 3 lies. Super inappropriate. WORST SERVICE EVER.

L
March 23rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions