559 Reviews and 186 Replies for TXU Energy

TXU Energy Logo
URC#:

Category Average Rating
Pricing and Plans 1.31
Order Experience 1.47
Customer Service 1.32
Billing Quality 1.33
Likely to recommend? 1.07

Indiana Energy Ratings Score:

( 2.7 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low



This graph ranks Price, Plans, Promotion, Order Experience, Customer Service, Billing, Account Management, Likelihood to recommend and Overall score of TXU Energy

TXU is one of the original incumbent utility providers in Texas that was spun off from their generation assets when Texas deregulated their electricity market in 2002. TXU is one of the largest and most recognized retail electricity providers in Texas and services both residential and commercial customers.

TXU is part of Vistra Energy which also owns Luminant, which specializes in coal and natural gas power generation assets.


TXU Energy

(5 / 5)

  I would recommend TXU to anyone looking for a reliable electric company. I have a reasonably priced bill, and they are active in preventing any issues that may come up from escalating.

RAC
March 5th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't trust the billing department

(1.6 / 5)

  On Feb 14th I called to have my service transferred and I was informed they did not service the location I moved to. I then told them to cancel my service on the 29th of Feb. On March 2, I called to verify the account was closed, I was informed no. I told the rep I requested it closed on the 29th. The rep credited me for 2 days and told me the final amount I owe was $85.13, which I immediately paid. On March 3rd I received an email stating I owed another $42.19. I called and the rep was basically rude with me, stating they had to listen to the recordings. I advised the rep it was wrong for them to tell a person the final amount then later charge an additional amount. I also have the calls recorded as well. I will never recommend TXU nor use them again.

TexasResident
March 3rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Average monthly billing

(1.8 / 5)

  I got ripped off by TXU today. I signed up for average billing, and after 12 months my cumulative balance is $97! I am someone who never uses more than 1000 kwh on any month., and $97 worth of electricity is about 1000kwh at my rate. This basically means that throughout the year I was undercharged for my usage, and I got slapped with it at once at the end of my contract. When making the decision to sign up I read the information about the average monthly billing on TXU website, which is very misleading:

"With this program, you don't pay less or more. Over the course of the year, you'll pay the same on this program as you would if you weren't on the program. However, the payments are pretty even throughout the year, so it's easier to manage your budget."

My experience made me believe that average monthly billing did not work in my interest as a consumer as it was advertised. On the contrary, by lowering my monthly bills, and at the same time growing the my cumulative balance, TXU made me believe that I was getting a good deal

Eugeniu
February 6th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst company higher bill

(1 / 5)

  They will change your plan without giving you a notice and will put your on higher monthly rates the worst electricity company

Zayn
February 6th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not use!

(1 / 5)

  Horrible people absolutely no care for their customers. Shuts off electricity on elderly people in the middle of winter even knowing their is payments being set up!

Tessa
January 31st, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont Give Customers Enough time to Pay

(1.4 / 5)

  TXU guest service representative Lied they did me the same way have an elderly person in the house and cut the lights off couldnt give me enough time to pay two days for the day they cut it off I wish I never had to listen to them saying it was a good company no respect no care for the elderlys My bill was $415 dollars I paid $300 all I was $115 they cut the lights off I call TXU to explain that I had an elderly person and their dad like the man for me to get the money I didnt have until Friday

Flo
January 15th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Prices are a scam!

(1.4 / 5)

  I have had TXU for 3 years now and their prices are a scam. I have tried both free nights plan and energy saver plan and there is NO difference in the prices. Last winter one of my bills was over $200 dollars one month. When I called to ask why the rep asked me about my appliances...which I told him where all natural gas. He told me that because the summer before was so hot in Texas that the company had to "buy" electricity and "oh well". TXU estimates all their bills, I know where my meter is and have NEVER seen anybody come out and read it...not once. I live alone in a small two bedroom house but my bills are always at least $200 or more. I was promised this last time to get 9 cents a kwh but in the contract and on the bill is actually a sliding scale....to get the 9 cents I have to use more energy...the less energy I use it costs more per kwh. So TXU gets their money no matter what! Can't wait to switch providers in February....

JeffL
January 4th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

worst energy company in texas

(1.8 / 5)

  high price. bad service

lay
January 1st, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bastards

(1 / 5)

  I made a payment for $83 on the app
It processed 3 times!
Was told it would be resolved the next day.
Next day happened , was told it would be taken care of THE NEXT DAY ...
Called again the NEXT DAT, and was told it would be fixed in the next 24 hours !! It wasnt until I made threats to make the issue bigger than what it needs to be and close out my account that I had my money back in my account in 30 minutes. Trash . The app I used to pay asked for me to enter a amount to pay, and if thats an option why allow an above amount to process.
Fix your stuff

Bitch ass robbers
December 27th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Definitely not the best

(1.4 / 5)

  It took 2-3 days to turn on our electricity because the previous tenant left without paying his bill so a hold was put on our apt unit. What another irresponsible person did does have a bearing on us. So why was it made to be a hassle for us? Secondly, the due dates vary ridiculously from the 2nd to 8th of the month, which makes submitting payment another hassle. When we were late a few times, we were denied the late fees to be waived. Finally, the rates were OK, but definitely not great. Will be switching to Frontier. I suggest others do the same.

J. Mtz
December 15th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Shop around

(1.4 / 5)

  I had talked to the scheduling department and was told that someone was coming within a week. After that time has elapsed, I called to see what was going on just to find out that my order was there but wasn't actually scheduled. After that was taken care of I finally received a date, the technician came out and couldn't get the thermostat connected to the WiFi. He said that it was the "internet password" even though other devices inside of the store, laptops, and customers cell phones had no problem connecting with the same exact password. I had called to request another technician at another date and they asked to speak to the one present. He had the audacity to say that I needed to call the internet provider to see if my password was correct after all the devices were being connected, even his cell phone was connected with the same exact password. He disconnected the thermostats and said that he had to come back out and that the center was going to talk to technical support and give me a call in 30 minutes. After about 45 minutes passed, I called back and was told that they had no intention of sending him or anyone else back out because since the technical didn't know how to connect the devices I'm considered ineligible. So since they were part of the package, I'm looking into another provider.

Lied to
December 5th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Horrible Service

(1 / 5)

  TXU Energy is the WORST.

Sense signing up with this company, I have had nothing but issues.

The most recent issue:
Changing my due date WITHOUT even asking or informing me of said change and billing me 4 times on separate charges sense moving.
When I contacted the customer service, all I kept getting was "I'm sorry, but we have no say in when the meter is read"
I get that, but YOU do have the power to update my due date back to what it was and has been sense Feb.
So sense my bill has already "generated" y'all refuse to change my due date. The only thing yall are saying you can do is set up a payment plan, but I will still be charged a late fee even tho I knew NOTHING about a date change.
Not only that, but customer service tells me to call back for a one time curtsey fee removal for "when I get back on track with my payments".

Um excuse me? I have paid on time sense signing up and have never been "off track".
Yall changing the due dates to trick people into paying late and racking up the late fees for your benefit is so bad.

Your employees leave out critical details and then tell customers there is nothing yall can do to help. Yall have told me lies about pricing and never seem to want to help or take blame for your mistakes.

M.B.
November 21st, 2019

M.B. - We care about your experience. Let's take a close look at your account together to see what is going on. Please email your account and contact info to TXUECares@txu.com and we'll reach out to you.

TXU Energy Responds November 22nd, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Homeowner

(1 / 5)

  worst ever after 20 years of been there customer .They lie too much when they explain plans , you will realized it when you move out of your house and discontinue your service.

sonny
November 11th, 2019

Sonny - We care about your experience. Let's take a close look at your account together to see what is going on. Please email your account and contact info to TXUECares@txu.com and we'll reach out to you.

TXU Energy Responds November 22nd, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

30 years customer and will be over this month

(1 / 5)

  30 years and never anything like this year. Renewed on the recorded line that I also recorded. was told the new plane was same as old plan just went from a year to 18 months. A couple months ago noticed summer bill was higher then last year same month and used less this year 1311 vs 1300 kw added 85.00 this year turns out price rate was up to 13. vs 10 i think. finding plan this week and when TXU trys to charge me disconnect will be playing the tape for them and media.

Ron H
October 23rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible

(1 / 5)

  I had someone come to my door and unfortunately I answered it - something I rarely do if I don't know who they are. She was from TXU and talked to me into switching providers. I told her I was very unhappy with my current provider because they couldn't seem to get my direct pay from my bank set up. She assured me it wouldn't be a problem with TXU and so I switched with those assurances. I provided the necessary information. Well - you guessed it - in 3 months time i've received 2 disconnect notices because I assumed that they were taking payments directly from my account. When I called them they told me that they had no idication or information about direct debit. I was suppossed to have gotten a $250 rebate credit card. I won't get that now I'm sure - either way i'm switching as fast as I can from this show. Oh - I did try to give them information over the phone but you can't talk to anyone but their automated agent they are so proud of. I waited 30 min. on hold waiting to give them payment information before I finally hung up. I'm beginning to think they don't want you to have direct debit so they can collect more disconnect fees. RUN as fast as you can away from this sorry bunch - lower rates maybe but they'll get to you in the end.

Disgruntled Dennis
October 22nd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HORRIBLE

(1 / 5)

  I was tricked into an 'awesome' free nights plan. Except this is actually the most expenisve bills I have ever received due to various charges and fees that were not estimated for me upfront. They sneak these charges in so they can bill you ridiculous amounts once you are trapped into a contract with them. Then they did not send me an email when my bill was due but were somehow able to send me an email 5 days after it was due, charging me a late fee and a disconnection notice fee after only 5 days when they are the ones that did not send me my bill to begin with. I cannot wait for my contract to end so I can leave this horrible company.

Adam
October 21st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Account theft

(1 / 5)

  TXU stold my account from my chosen provider and won't correct their error. They admitted it was 100 Percent their fault and there are tape recordings which back that up. But, they won't follow through with getting my service plan restored. These people have deceptive practices, they lie and don't follow through on promises.

Jeri Arnold
October 16th, 2019

Jeri - Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and comments. If you would care to provide your account and contact info to
TXUECares@txu.com we will be happy to investigate and reach out to you.

TXU Energy Responds October 17th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Visa card for signing up

(1 / 5)

  Did not receive second card as promised. Called and TXU confirmed it wasn't used. Said to make another monthly payment and it will be sent out. Made 2 payments and still not received. Called again. After 15 minutes to get to correct person I was basically called a liar and agent was very rude. I hung up...Mad...Crooks....

Marc Gentry
October 14th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rates and TDU delivery charges very high!

(1.6 / 5)

  A quoted price of .87 per kWh ended up being .154 (almost double) for billed usage of 626 kwh totaling $62.90. TDU charges and "other fees" total $32.66. Total bill $96.99 to cool an 800 square ft apartment with thermostat set at 78-79 degrees. I will never use TXU again and cannot recommend them to any. I've been with them for years and they were fair. Now they're just outrageous. I changed plans but not feeling very hopeful. Customer service rep said he's in Nicaragua.

Disappointed txu customer
September 30th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Liars and horrible customer honesty and support

(1 / 5)

  I accidentally overpaid my bill by over $1400.00. That was August 30, today is Sept 30, no refund yet. Every CSR I spoke to has lied to me about when it was or was not issued, supervisors too. EXTREMELY dishonest company.

Dishonest do not use
September 30th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just Energy


Fixed rate electricity and natural gas plans

View Rates  
Example Bill
loading...