12 Reviews and Replies for Think Energy

Think Energy Logo
URC#:

Category Average Rating
Pricing and Plans 1.42
Order Experience 1.25
Customer Service 1.50
Billing Quality 1.67
Likely to recommend? 1.25

Indiana Energy Ratings Score:

( 3 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low



This graph ranks Price, Plans, Promotion, Order Experience, Customer Service, Billing, Account Management, Likelihood to recommend and Overall score of Think Energy

Who is Think Energy?

GDF Suez, also known as Think Energy, is a deregulated electricity provider in Connecticut, New Hampshire, Ohio, and Delaware, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, and Texas.

Let us help you get a low CT electricity rate

We understand that Connecticut Electricity rates can be confusing. That's why you have the power to choose and compare your electricity pricing from over 30 licensed companies in Connecticut

And the best part is that it's all free. There are no switching fees, your electricity stays on throughout the whole process, and no special equipment is needed. If you're moving to to Connecticut, your new provider will turn on your power and set up your new service.

And we've made shopping for the best CT electricity rate easy. You'll find dozens of choices and options to choose from, whether you're looking for long term fixed terms from 12 to 36 months for “set it and forget it” convenience. Your choices grow from there. Choose green energy plans, plans with Rewards, Incentives, and Smart Home plans featuring free programmable thermostats such as the Nest thermostat.

We've made it easy by sorting, ranking and rating every provider and then recommending plans and providers that have proved that they provide the best customer service and a great electric rate for your home or business.


Shady business practices - overcharge

(1.2 / 5)

  Think energy will sign you up for a contract, and when it is time for that contract to expire they will stop sending you invoices via mail / email. Do not sign up for autopay because they will draft a variable rate without any notice that is 3X the rate. Customer service is poor, wait times are long, please do yourself a favor and find a reputable company that does not have to steal to stay afloat.

Made a formal complaint with the utility commission and they confirmed they are not following the rules.

Run away, fast.

Dallas Customer
August 11th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

rip off rip off

(1.8 / 5)

  I was told by the Sales person for Think that they would provide a buy back for my excess solar. BS!!!!!! They took my excess, and said they couldn't buy it back. (It's in the contract in uber small print. WHAT THEY SAY TO GET YOU TO SIGN UP, ISN'T TRUE.

RIP OFF RIP OFF RIP OFF

Ripped off in Texas
July 17th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Awful Service

(1.6 / 5)

  I completely agree with everyone's low star rating on this company. Our rate went up without being told. Our bill was super high! My husband and I have called Customer Service to get our bill straighten out. It was super hard to hear the agent due to the loud background noise. The agent was not helpful and wasn't answering our questions. We then called the next day and asked for a manger and have our bill investigated. They told us it should take a few weeks with an answer. They never followed up on it! A month later, I had to contact them on the status of the investigation. The manager apologized through email and I'm now waiting for a phone call about our bill. I have a feeling we will have to pay this bill. What is frustrating is my husband and I are hardly home! How they jacked the price without telling us is complete bs. We got hosed by this company. Very, Very, Very disappointed in the Customer Service and overall Electrical Service. We cancelled Think Energy and will not be using them again.

Holly
March 16th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay Away!!!

(1 / 5)

  This company is horrible! I've contacted their Customer Service many times, and "SERVICE" is never what I've recieved! Their charges always seem to increase regardless of usage. Their "systems" are totally archaic! I'm counting the days until I can get out of this contract!!!

Kat
January 17th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Support is awful

(1 / 5)

  Their support is somewhere in the virgin islands, and it is terrible. When you call it sounds like you are making a call to a person in a bar or something. People are talking loudly in the background, laughing about stuff, really unprofessional. Also, when you write them they don't answer your questions. I wrote them twice and they still couldn't help me. Don't go with this company. They are not good.

Derek
December 7th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Company rating

(1 / 5)

  This is the most horrible company.
They are stuck in the 20th century, has system "gliche" problems, does not have electronic billing.
Do not enroll here.

Dissatisified New Customer
June 7th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HORRIBLE - they will fleece you

(1 / 5)

  Horrible company. They don't use email so you have to watch your mail in A YEAR OR SO for a hidden letter that you're on a variable rate plan now.... that over a few months almost DOUBLES your cost. And then you will wait a full billing cycle (even if yours is up in a couple days) for them to make the change to lower rate.

Disappointed in NH
February 9th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Avoid Think Energy

(1 / 5)

  Highly Fraudulent company that all should avoid. After my 2 year contract expired, they have nearly doubled my electric rates in less than a year without any notice. From 9 cents to nearly 17 cents. Also beware that moving to another provider is harder than you think. My move to Constellation was blocked and Im still paying these Fraudulent Think Energy rates. Getting things straight is requiring many many phone calls. When you Think Energy, Think Again!

Dave
January 20th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Ever

(1 / 5)

  Worst ever!!!!!! I have been with them for 2 years never had a payment arrangement or extension and I called to ask for an extension due to the hurricane and they told me that i don't qualify for an extension at this time. Avoid at all cost!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Brock Wells
August 31st, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lying to see my current bill

(1 / 5)

  A Think Energy rep arrived at my doorstep today claiming that I recently switched to their company and that he needed to see my bill in order to verify. I asked the name of his company and went to check if that's what it said on my bill. Clean Choice Energy is my current company and we're very happy with them. I went back to the rep at my door and he said that the name changed and he needed to verify. He was going to take my bill out of my hands without me handing it to him! I said no thank you and that we were fine. But why were they lying when Think and Clean Choice are indeed 2 different companies?!

K Rodroquez
August 10th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer service is a diaster

(1 / 5)

  2/9/17 paid bill by phone. Got a disconnect 2 weeks later. Called and paid again. Got confirmation. Gave them checking info again. Got confirmation. Got another letter and another bill. paid once again. 3 times. Got another bill and disconnect notice. Called my bank. No problem on their end and plenty of money in account. I was on phone for over 2 hrs. No one would except debit or c/c to pay bill for 4th time. I gave the correct info all 3 times and they did not type correct info 3 different times. Unexceptable. I was forced to drive 35 minutes to an Ace Express to take cash. They knew it wasn't due to insufficient funds. I was rude, they were rude and no help from supervisors. No tolerance and them knowing it was not MY fault it was clearly the people taking info . I will not do business with such morons . I want out of my contract due to the fact I hate Think Energy. Impossible to work with. Totally corrupt and fraudulent and just plan stupid.

Kathy Russell
March 31st, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Think Energy

(4.4 / 5)

  Think energy is great,

Gayled
February 15th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions