Home > Read Reviews > Spark Energy


134 Reviews and 57 Replies for Spark Energy

Spark Energy Logo
URC#:

Category Average Rating
Pricing and Plans 2.08
Order Experience 2.33
Customer Service 2.23
Billing Quality 2.13
Likely to recommend? 1.90

Indiana Energy Ratings Score:

( 3.8 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low



This graph ranks Price, Plans, Promotion, Order Experience, Customer Service, Billing, Account Management, Likelihood to recommend and Overall score of Spark Energy
Founded in 1999 and licensed to sell electricity in Texas in 2002, Spark Energy is now a national retail electricity and natural gas provider. They now provider electricity and/or natural gas services in the following states: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Nevada, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Texas.

Problems Galore from the Beginning

(2.6 / 5)

  We've been with Spark from the beginning and we have had numerous problems. For the first few years it was always administrative related...wrong address, wrong billing amount, etc. Now our problem is our contract expired the end of December and we did not renew on time. So they took our rate from 6.5cents to 16.9cents. When I called to renew for 24 months and complain about the bill, they refused to make a reasonable adjustment. They offered a $75 credit on a $565 bill. We cancelled our service.

Martha Walker
January 24th, 2019

Hello Ms. Walker. We hate that you had a negative experience with Spark Energy. Please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com so we can take a look into your account and see how we can assist you.

Spark Energy Responds January 30th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Final Notice

(1.8 / 5)

  I have North Shore gas who handles the bills and receives payment. Spark sent me a Pink bill that said Final Notice. Interesting since I had no previous "notices" from them. Why are they billing me when North Shore pays them?? the Months of service were not even consecutive March, June , and July ; this meant they got April and May, interesting?? This "Final Bill"" also threatened me with taking their bill to a Collection agency and reporting me to credit bureaus if we didn't pay it to them...remember North shore gas pays them and I pay North Shore. Now who should be taken to the collection agency or credit bureau?

Final Notice
October 11th, 2018

We definitely understand how frustrating it may have been to receive a collections notice regarding your Spark Energy account. We would like to take a look at this for you so we can confirm where the balance comes from. Can you please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com? Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds October 31st, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lost my deposit

(2.6 / 5)

  These guys lost my deposit. I was told there would be a $300 deposit when I signed up so I paid it...A year later I moved and had service disconnected and according yo them I never paif a deposit but electricity was turned on anyway...please. The deposit was payed out of a direct deposit card that doesn't generate statements but I can access activities online. Luckily I still have the account and it shows sparks debit for the deposit but according to spark I must fax a statement.....I guess small claims court iy is.
.

Ronnie Tucker
September 21st, 2018

Hello Mr. Tucker. We apologize for your experience and would like to assist you with your account issues. Can you please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com with your account details so we can review? Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds October 3rd, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disappointed

(1 / 5)

  We've been with Spark for over 11 years.
Definitely a company to be avoided.
We have always renewed our contract on time... until last month. We were 4 days past our contract date when we first made contact with customer service. Our bill was 3X our normal bill.

First off, this was our fault. We recieved an email regarding the upcomming end of contract, and we failed to renew in time. So life happened, and our contract lapsed for 4 days in the 11 years that we've been with Spark. This 4 day lapse cost us over $300!

We called customer sevice multiple times to see if they would be willing to help us out. We were told each time that there was nothing that they would do to retain us as a customer. We have never missed or been late on a bill. We switched providers after 11 years, and they don't care.

Don't waiste your time with this company.
This appears to be a very common story on how Spark treats their customers.

Tiffany
September 10th, 2018

We are sorry to hear that we have lost your business. We have received your other reviews and as mentioned in our responses to the other reviews, we'd like our Office of the President to review your account to see how we can assist; can you please email them at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account details and concerns? Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark energy

(5 / 5)

  I have spark energy 6 month ago but now Im ready to contract another 6 month, they have lot of good prices for electricity and good customer service?

Mr singh
July 9th, 2018

Thank you for your positive review. We appreciate your business and hope that you renew your contract with us so we can continue providing you great customer service and low fixed rates.

Spark Energy Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sharp Business Practice

(1.4 / 5)

  Spark had a decent introductory rate - but see that the rates doubled a few months ago. I'm pretty good at record keeping, and would have remarked a doubling of rates if notified. What is the rational for a doubling of rates (to 19.99 cents / kwh- 50% over the basic eversouce rate!) other than to catch sleepy customers (like myself) unaware? If you want to and have the time to go through every bill every month and actively manage your electric bills, then Spark may be fine - if you don't like nasty surprises - avoid them!

Paul D
June 14th, 2018

We are sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience. Typically a notice is sent before a fixed-rate contract expires. We'd definitely like to research to verify if one was sent and provide you additional assistance; can you please email our Office of the President at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account details? Thank you for your feedback.

Spark Energy Responds July 5th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They did not inform me they were doubling the costs of the electric

(1 / 5)

  Once I discovered they were doubling the costs, i call them and they refused to lower it so I found another company that was reasonable and signed up with them. When Spark found out that wanted to negotiate with me, I sand, "no". you had your chance your customer service dept. wanted to see who would blink first.

I didn't care, that is not customer service, just like North American Power. We don't blink.

Customer Disservice
May 7th, 2018

We apologize for your experience and that we weren't able to resolve your concerns on the first call. If you'd like to discuss your experience further so we can review your account and ways to improve, please email our Office of the President at oopcx@sparkenergy.com.

Spark Energy Responds May 7th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Should have stayed with Reliant

(1.4 / 5)

  Had spark about 2 months. I'm about a week late on one payment and they disconnected my electricity! This ridiculous s*** never happened with Reliant and I'm definitely switching back. Run far from Spark Energy cause they don't care about you or your family.

Charlette
March 14th, 2018

We are sorry to hear that you are considering switching away from Spark Energy. We'd like to assure you that we do care about our customers and we do provide a disconnection notice with 10 additional days to make a payment after the initial due date. If you were disconnected prior to the disconnection date on the notice, we would definitely like to investigate. Can you please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com? Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds March 28th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disfunctional company

(2.4 / 5)

  Despite agreed upon electricity pricing they charged me more than twice the agreed number. Multiple calls, every time a different person with a different story. Horrible!

Ara pat
January 17th, 2018

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the issues you have encountered. We'd like to review your account to see how we can improve. Can you please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account information and more details?

Spark Energy Responds January 24th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Electric supplier

(4 / 5)

  I went on line to find another delivery company for my electricity. Sparks was the cheapest so I enrolled for 6 months. Its ridiculous that my electrical use is cheaper than my delivery charge

Sharon Gazdzicki
December 15th, 2017

We are happy to hear that you found our rates to be the lowest. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to servicing your electric needs.

Spark Energy Responds December 20th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Easy to lower mmy rate

(5 / 5)

  Switching to a lower rate was easy.

switching to a lower rate is easy
December 12th, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that your switch was easy and hope that our low rates will keep you as a satisfied customer for years to come.

Spark Energy Responds December 20th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Over charged

(1 / 5)

  I made the wrong decision to use Spark Energy as my energy provider. This company had charged me in the term of two months the total of two one year or more. They did not send me a renewal agreement and just triple the rate in the plan. Then I tried to call them and find out why of the charge and they gave me a non-sense answer. In one month my bill went from $45.00 to $885.97, so please be careful with what energy provider you pick. This company its obviously not honest and just after stealing from its clients.

Over price-stealing to it's customer be aware of this company when looking for supplier.
October 10th, 2017

Good Afternoon, First, we would like to sincerely apologize for the delay in response to your review. Second, we would like the opportunity to review your account to investigate what transpired and follow up with you accordingly. Would you be able to email us directly at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com so that we can review your account? We sincerely hope to hear from you soon.

Spark Energy Responds November 8th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HUGE SCAM RUN DON'T WALK AWAY FROM SPARK

(1 / 5)

  I made the foolish mistake of answering a phone call from this company, they promised me a lower rate so I said ok and gave all my info. Fast forward one month and I don't get my normal bill of $150, I get a bill of $450. Immediately called my former provider here in pennsylvania PP&L. They looked into my bill and said I was given the low rate fir one day then SPARK tripled my rate. I immediately went back with PP&L and everything is getting back to normal.

Dee
October 6th, 2017

Good Afternoon Dee, Thank you for your review. We are so sorry it has taken us so long to reply. What you have described regarding your billing concerns is definitely alarming and we would like the opportunity to further investigate. Would you please email us directly at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com so that we can review your account? Thank you so much.

Spark Energy Responds November 8th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark energy rips off customers

(1 / 5)

  I've been a customer of Spark Energy for 4 years. This kind of bad experience happened to me twice. Spark Energy automatically switched my plan to the most expensive one at the end of my long-term contract and charged me more than $800 in the last three months.

Recommend everyone to avoid this greedy company.

Xiaomin
August 27th, 2017

Good Afternoon Xiaomin, Thank you for your review as well as your long-standing loyalty with Spark Energy. I would like to apologize for the delay in response to your review. Would you be able to email us directly at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com with your account details so that we can investigate what took place in your account? We would like to follow up with you. Thank you so much.

Spark Energy Responds November 8th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BEWARE... AVOID THIS COMPANY

(1 / 5)

  Spark Energy has done everything in their power to price gouge me for the final month of billing. They charged me 3 times the amount I was previously paying. AND charged me MORE "fees" AFTER they had already agreed to a payment plan for their $562 dollar final bill. I cannot express enough how unethical this company is. Please read the reviews, be aware! This company is the worst company I have ever encountered.

Beware! Read the reviews! Educate yourselves!
April 18th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very Customer Service Orientated.

(4.2 / 5)

  Have been using Spark's services for many years now and have always found them a good value, costing much less than Clearview and other power I have purchased in other locations. Rates go up now and again, but that's no surprise as long as rates are still lower than competing power suppliers. I have been so impressed with Spark's customer service over the past few years that I looked for somewhere to say thank you. Health issues have made it difficult to keep my bill paid on time far too often. No excuse for not paying on time, yet a reason for having difficulties. I always call feeling awful and somehow they make me feel better before I hangup! Kudos!

Brianna
March 8th, 2017

We are happy to hear that you have been enjoying our lower rates for several years. We aim to keep our customers happy and look forward to doing so for many more years to come.

Spark Energy Responds June 26th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service only talkable point

(2.6 / 5)

  The energy service provided were honestly not up to standards. Billing was confusing not to mention their non-existent Plans and Promotions.
The only professional aspect was their customer service, they were very understanding and acknowledging although that is no excuse for their other shortcomings.
Would not recommend as a first-choice but they aren't not the worse.

Christina Consiglio
January 10th, 2017

We apologize for the delay in responding to your review. We sincerely apologize for your experience. We hope that your issues were addressed. If they have not been, please email our Office of the President at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account information.

Spark Energy Responds June 26th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I Consider Spark Energy a Scam!

(1 / 5)

  I changed to Spark Energy based on the promise of reduced cost and continuous service. I have received anything but a somewhat reduced cost!

Spark Energy appears to be a company (possibly operating out of a garage somewhere in Houston, TX) with an "Office of the CEO" Secretary running the company (her name is Jennifer Lewis).

I called Spark Energy in August 2016 to file a complaint regarding consistent Voice Mail messages my bill was due and I would loose Service if it wasn't paid on time. Please note, at the time I received this message it was over 106 degrees in Plano, TX at the time and as a 62 year old retiree I received this message creating severe Emotional Distress considering the implications of a lack of electrical service especially considering my bill had been paid as Due.

I attempted to call for a conversation with Spark Energy's CEO to discuss why my electronic payments from Bank of America (schedule and paid on the "Due Date" proscribed by Spark Energy) were not being applied to my Spark Energy account. I ended up at the desk of the "Supervisor, Office of the President" (Ms. Jennifer Lewis) of Spark Energy.

Jennifer, is obviously nothing more than an Executive Secretary, specifically indicated I would not be able to talk directly with the CEO of Spark Energy. What CEO refuses to talk with his / her Customers? I pushed for a conversation with the CEO of Spark Energy to no avail.

At this point, it wasn't about being charged for "Late Fees" of which were inappropriate based on the fact Bank of America had documented the fact my bill was indeed "paid by Bill Date", my disgust was based on the fact I believed Spark Energy was nothing more than a Scam (as perpetuated by Ms. Jennifer Lewis).

Spark Energy produces a billing with a fifteen (15) day "payment window". Spark Energy has in VERY SMALL PRINT on their Invoices a statement that you must pay your Invoice (proscribing payment 2 to 3 business days PRIOR to the "Due Date") to avoid "Late Charges". This allows the Consumer a total of approximately twelve (12) Business Days to pay their bill without being charged Late Charges, as I have now been charged, and amounts to as much as $9.32 / month eradicating ANY benefit of utilizing Spark Energy as a cost effective alternative!

This IS a SCAM! The CEO of Spark Energy refuses to take Customer Phone Calls (can you believe it), his "Watch Dog" (Jennifer Lewis) is nothing more than a Secretary, and the Company still remains charging customers for discounted energy rates of which are at least questionable!

I am interested in pursuing Spark Energy through a Class Action Lawsuit including Emotional Distress, unethical Business & Collection Practices and a variety of other issues. IF you are interested in adjoining with me please alert me related to your interest at PMorlan01@Yahoo.com.

I Consider Spark Energy a Scam!

I Consider Spark Energy a Scam!
December 22nd, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor Customer Service - Liar

(0 / 5)

  I have been using Spark Energy since 6/2015. On 9/2015, I referred a friend. Then I called Spark Energy for my $25 credit of referring a friend, they told me to wait after 3 months, to make sure that my friend would pay her bills for 3 months for me to get the credit. I said ok, but why you don't say anything about that waiting after 3 months anywhere on the website or in the letter you send me about my ID of referring a friend. After 3 months, I called them, they said they could not locate the referral, and asked me to asked my friend for their account number. Then I called them again this morning for the account number, a guy picked up the call and asked if at the time of the referral, if I sent my friend a link, and he said everything should have been done through the link and the referral would automatically applied. I told him I was the one that opened that account for her through online and put in my referral ID, and about the specific step of the link, I can't remember, and it would be too much for me and my friend to open her email to make sure that she received that link through her email. Then he said that was the only way. I asked my friend for me to check her email and it was an email of the link, and the email was read, it meant that I really used the link to open the account for her. Then I called Spark Energy again to tell the fact, and the lady ask me to have my friend with me to verify the account. Are you insane? How if my friend is living far away from me? Representatives of Spark Energy just provided different instructions and explanations every time I called them and avoided paying me my referral.
I would switch to another company whenever my contract ends and will never refer any friend to Spark Energy again.

J
March 7th, 2016

We are sorry to hear about your experience with getting your Refer a Friend Credit. Please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with you and your friend's account information so that we can review and assist you as soon as possible. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds March 28th, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SUCH A SCAM

(1 / 5)

  Spark Energy is horrible! They came to my door to sign up and talked about comparable rates and saving money this winter. My last 2 bills have been increased 4x. I paid $400 versus my neighbors on just Nicor variable rate of $100. That's .25/therm versus mine which was 1.25/therm. I have a large family and can't afford this type of bill. They are unwilling to help out in anyway other then sending me some "valuable coupons in my email" - WOW. THANKS!!! I have cancelled and filed reports with the ICC. Nicor has said they get complaints about them ALL THE TIME. Customer service sucks and of the 4 times we have talked to them so far never has anyone been understanding or have we been able to talk to a manager. Even if I signed up again they would not help out my high bill in anyway. I will do everything to let everyone know what a horrible company they are and to STAY AWAY. They shouldn't be able to sleep at night charging people this much! Not sure how they sleep at night.

Danielle Shannon
March 2nd, 2016

We apologize for the delay in responding to your review. We hope your account concerns were addressed in your escalation to the ICC. Please let us know if you have additional concerns by emailing our Office of the President at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account details.

Spark Energy Responds June 26th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just Energy


Fixed rate electricity and natural gas plans

View Rates  
Updated: 02-21-2019
Example Bill
loading...