143 Reviews and 66 Replies for Spark Energy

Spark Energy Logo
URC#:

Category Average Rating
Pricing and Plans 2.06
Order Experience 2.29
Customer Service 2.23
Billing Quality 2.13
Likely to recommend? 1.91

Indiana Energy Ratings Score:

( 3.8 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low



This graph ranks Price, Plans, Promotion, Order Experience, Customer Service, Billing, Account Management, Likelihood to recommend and Overall score of Spark Energy
Founded in 1999 and licensed to sell electricity in Texas in 2002, Spark Energy is now a national retail electricity and natural gas provider. They now provider electricity and/or natural gas services in the following states: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Nevada, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Texas.

Scam

(1 / 5)

  This people lie sign with them and ur bills will be higher then ever.They claim to lower ur bill but its a lie u pay double of what u where paying

Scam
January 10th, 2020

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our services. We'd like the opportunity to review your account to see what occurred and how we can assist. Can you please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com with your concerns and account details? Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds January 14th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Problems with Spark

(1.4 / 5)

  Despite signing up online and receiving an email confirmation of the rate chosen, Spark billed me at a much higher rate the first month. When I inquired, I was told the rate I selected was for new customers, not renewing customers. Why was there a difference? No answer. When it was clear I had the documentation, they refused to rebill the month, but rather credited my account a flat dollar amount for the difference. Absent a breakdown or recalculated invoice, how do I know they got it right? Two years ago, when I originally signed up for Spark, they tried a similar swithch. They tried to stick me with a higher rate that the one I signed up for online. I had to make several phone calls and emails to Spark customer service and eventually go all the way to the TX PUC to get the rate I signed up for. Bottom line, both times, Spark did honor the rate, but it shouldn't be this difficult when I had the proof in confirmation emails.

Problems with Spark
November 22nd, 2019

We truly apologize for your experience. Should you want to review the cost analysis of the bill credit, we'd be happy to provide. Unfortunately, we cannot re-bill an invoice that has already been generated. Also, please be aware that renewals for active Spark Energy customers must be completed by calling in or by logging into your online account on www.sparkenergy.com. Any enrollments through a third party site cannot be completed as our system would detect that you are a current customer. Nonetheless, we'd like to thank you for your feedback as it helps us make improvements to the overall customer experience.

Spark Energy Responds November 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Deceprive Business Practices

(1.4 / 5)

  Recently a young lady knocked on my door representing Spark Energy. She told me they were offering a $100 gift debit card each for electric and gas. I signed up for both. Well 30 days went by and I did not receive them. Now the company tells me that they don't offer it and that the lady does not work for them, but works for some 3rd party company. This company is dishonest and from what I just learned, trespasses too.
I'm very sorry I gave them my personal information, account numbers and my business. Now I am going to have to file a police report for consumer fraud against them. They have shown me nothing but confusion and total dishonesty. Buyers Beware!

Leslie
September 22nd, 2019

We would like to apologize for your experience and we'd also like to investigate further. Would you mind emailing us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com and include these same concerns along with additional details? Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds September 25th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark Energy Rate Gouge

(1 / 5)

  My 80 year old Mother either did not reply to a renewal notice or did not receive one. The fixed rate expired 03/07/19. Spark Energy raised her fixed rate from 9 cents a kwh to 18 cents a kwh. Now that the weather is hot we realized the doubling of her supply rate. I can see that their fiduciary is to themselves and that their ethics are in the gutter. Un Justified Rip Off

Lawrence Dolan
July 25th, 2019

We apologize for you and your mother's experience. We'd like to confirm that your concerns were investigated and address via the complaint filed.

Spark Energy Responds August 13th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disappointed

(1 / 5)

  Tried to pay a friends late bills because he has been in out of the hospital for the last several months. He was late on multiple bills. I was willing to pay all late fees and the reconnect fee. But they had done a "move out" on him and would not allow me to pay the back bills to get his electricity turned back on. He is currently in the hospital and they will not release him without having electricity due to his condition. The collection rep was professional and apologetic but refused to escalate to a manager to see if we could get it resolved.

Their motto "Empower What Matters" must be talking about their rules, not their corporate or community values.

Concerned Friend
March 27th, 2019

We are sorry to hear of your friend's situation. Typically, when an account is closed due to a past due balance, the balance needs to be satisfied and a new enrollment will need to be submitted. If your friend is able to complete this, he can call us or submit the enrollment online. Once the service is back on and if his condition qualifies, we can also assist with ensuring he is put on a priority list in case of outages. If you have any questions or need assistance, please feel free to reach out to us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds April 17th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do Not Switch to Spark Electric or their subsidiary Verde Energy.

(1 / 5)

  Verde Energy, a subsidiary of Spark Electric, has questionable business practices. The marketing company used by Verde (Spark) allows their associates to tell people they are representing PECO. When confronted with the truth the marketers become rude and abusive. I have asked multiple times for them to put me on the Do Not Call list but they continue to call. If I block the phone number, they call from different numbers. I only learned that the company that was calling saying it was PECO was actually Verde Energy when I received a letter from PECO stating that Verde Energy was now our new energy supplier. Do not allow this company to become your energy supplier, just hang-up. Too bad you can't give zero stars.

LB
March 11th, 2019

We are truly concerned about the details of your review and would like advise you to email Verde Energy so they can assist you and address your concerns. You can email them at officeofthepresident@verdeenergy.com. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds March 26th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark Energy's representives great work

(5 / 5)

  Hi I would like to say that signing up with Spark Energy is definitely saving me some money and the help i received from the representatives was very helpful and efficient I appreciate it when the representatives take time to thuroghly explain to the customer about the services that will be given. Thank You

Great Business
March 5th, 2019

Thank you for your positive review. We are grateful to have wonderful customers like you.

Spark Energy Responds March 26th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Thorough and Helpful!

(4.2 / 5)

  I just spoke with BB in customer service and she was so helpful. My mother in law passed away recently and I was making sure her account continued to stay paid until the property was sold. BB walked me through all of the areas making sure that everything was updated including e-mail, phone notifications, etc. I probably would not have remembered to update all of the information. It was so helpful for her to prompt me on each of the areas. Thank you BB and thank you Spark Energy!

Sheri
February 25th, 2019

Please accept our condolences on the passing of your mother. We are glad to hear that BB assisted you with ensuring everything is in order as we can understand it is a difficult situation.

Spark Energy Responds March 26th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark Energy is shady

(1.2 / 5)

  I will not advice anyone to use this company, they are shady. I don't even know how my energy services got changed to them. I live in a two bedroom apartment in Arlington Heights, Illinois and before my energy bill was transferred to them, my average consumption was 699kwh and when they took over it immediately went up to 2155kwh without any change in usage, season or added home equipment. Also, their rate was double from what I was paying before (0.063900) to 0.11870 and so my bill became outrageous. I called them several times but they couldn't explain how they became my supplier or why my consumption suddenly went up. I was happy with my former supplier whose rates were even less than that of ComEd itself. Like I said, I don't know how they were able to remove my former supplier and had their name on my bill.

Remi
February 7th, 2019

We can understand how alarming it is to see a new supplier suddenly appear on your electric bill. Can you please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com so we can review your enrollment details and see how we can assist you? We look forward to assisting you.

Spark Energy Responds March 26th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Problems Galore from the Beginning

(2.6 / 5)

  We've been with Spark from the beginning and we have had numerous problems. For the first few years it was always administrative related...wrong address, wrong billing amount, etc. Now our problem is our contract expired the end of December and we did not renew on time. So they took our rate from 6.5cents to 16.9cents. When I called to renew for 24 months and complain about the bill, they refused to make a reasonable adjustment. They offered a $75 credit on a $565 bill. We cancelled our service.

Martha Walker
January 24th, 2019

Hello Ms. Walker. We hate that you had a negative experience with Spark Energy. Please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com so we can take a look into your account and see how we can assist you.

Spark Energy Responds January 30th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Final Notice

(1.8 / 5)

  I have North Shore gas who handles the bills and receives payment. Spark sent me a Pink bill that said Final Notice. Interesting since I had no previous "notices" from them. Why are they billing me when North Shore pays them?? the Months of service were not even consecutive March, June , and July ; this meant they got April and May, interesting?? This "Final Bill"" also threatened me with taking their bill to a Collection agency and reporting me to credit bureaus if we didn't pay it to them...remember North shore gas pays them and I pay North Shore. Now who should be taken to the collection agency or credit bureau?

Final Notice
October 11th, 2018

We definitely understand how frustrating it may have been to receive a collections notice regarding your Spark Energy account. We would like to take a look at this for you so we can confirm where the balance comes from. Can you please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com? Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds October 31st, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lost my deposit

(2.6 / 5)

  These guys lost my deposit. I was told there would be a $300 deposit when I signed up so I paid it...A year later I moved and had service disconnected and according yo them I never paif a deposit but electricity was turned on anyway...please. The deposit was payed out of a direct deposit card that doesn't generate statements but I can access activities online. Luckily I still have the account and it shows sparks debit for the deposit but according to spark I must fax a statement.....I guess small claims court iy is.
.

Ronnie Tucker
September 21st, 2018

Hello Mr. Tucker. We apologize for your experience and would like to assist you with your account issues. Can you please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com with your account details so we can review? Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds October 3rd, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disappointed

(1 / 5)

  We've been with Spark for over 11 years.
Definitely a company to be avoided.
We have always renewed our contract on time... until last month. We were 4 days past our contract date when we first made contact with customer service. Our bill was 3X our normal bill.

First off, this was our fault. We recieved an email regarding the upcomming end of contract, and we failed to renew in time. So life happened, and our contract lapsed for 4 days in the 11 years that we've been with Spark. This 4 day lapse cost us over $300!

We called customer sevice multiple times to see if they would be willing to help us out. We were told each time that there was nothing that they would do to retain us as a customer. We have never missed or been late on a bill. We switched providers after 11 years, and they don't care.

Don't waiste your time with this company.
This appears to be a very common story on how Spark treats their customers.

Tiffany
September 10th, 2018

We are sorry to hear that we have lost your business. We have received your other reviews and as mentioned in our responses to the other reviews, we'd like our Office of the President to review your account to see how we can assist; can you please email them at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account details and concerns? Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark energy

(5 / 5)

  I have spark energy 6 month ago but now Im ready to contract another 6 month, they have lot of good prices for electricity and good customer service?

Mr singh
July 9th, 2018

Thank you for your positive review. We appreciate your business and hope that you renew your contract with us so we can continue providing you great customer service and low fixed rates.

Spark Energy Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sharp Business Practice

(1.4 / 5)

  Spark had a decent introductory rate - but see that the rates doubled a few months ago. I'm pretty good at record keeping, and would have remarked a doubling of rates if notified. What is the rational for a doubling of rates (to 19.99 cents / kwh- 50% over the basic eversouce rate!) other than to catch sleepy customers (like myself) unaware? If you want to and have the time to go through every bill every month and actively manage your electric bills, then Spark may be fine - if you don't like nasty surprises - avoid them!

Paul D
June 14th, 2018

We are sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience. Typically a notice is sent before a fixed-rate contract expires. We'd definitely like to research to verify if one was sent and provide you additional assistance; can you please email our Office of the President at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account details? Thank you for your feedback.

Spark Energy Responds July 5th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They did not inform me they were doubling the costs of the electric

(1 / 5)

  Once I discovered they were doubling the costs, i call them and they refused to lower it so I found another company that was reasonable and signed up with them. When Spark found out that wanted to negotiate with me, I sand, "no". you had your chance your customer service dept. wanted to see who would blink first.

I didn't care, that is not customer service, just like North American Power. We don't blink.

Customer Disservice
May 7th, 2018

We apologize for your experience and that we weren't able to resolve your concerns on the first call. If you'd like to discuss your experience further so we can review your account and ways to improve, please email our Office of the President at oopcx@sparkenergy.com.

Spark Energy Responds May 7th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Should have stayed with Reliant

(1.4 / 5)

  Had spark about 2 months. I'm about a week late on one payment and they disconnected my electricity! This ridiculous s*** never happened with Reliant and I'm definitely switching back. Run far from Spark Energy cause they don't care about you or your family.

Charlette
March 14th, 2018

We are sorry to hear that you are considering switching away from Spark Energy. We'd like to assure you that we do care about our customers and we do provide a disconnection notice with 10 additional days to make a payment after the initial due date. If you were disconnected prior to the disconnection date on the notice, we would definitely like to investigate. Can you please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com? Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds March 28th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disfunctional company

(2.4 / 5)

  Despite agreed upon electricity pricing they charged me more than twice the agreed number. Multiple calls, every time a different person with a different story. Horrible!

Ara pat
January 17th, 2018

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the issues you have encountered. We'd like to review your account to see how we can improve. Can you please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account information and more details?

Spark Energy Responds January 24th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Electric supplier

(4 / 5)

  I went on line to find another delivery company for my electricity. Sparks was the cheapest so I enrolled for 6 months. Its ridiculous that my electrical use is cheaper than my delivery charge

Sharon Gazdzicki
December 15th, 2017

We are happy to hear that you found our rates to be the lowest. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to servicing your electric needs.

Spark Energy Responds December 20th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Easy to lower mmy rate

(5 / 5)

  Switching to a lower rate was easy.

switching to a lower rate is easy
December 12th, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that your switch was easy and hope that our low rates will keep you as a satisfied customer for years to come.

Spark Energy Responds December 20th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just Energy


Fixed rate electricity and natural gas plans

View Rates  
Example Bill
loading...