435 Reviews and 124 Replies for Reliant

Reliant Logo
URC#:

Category Average Rating
Pricing and Plans 1.64
Order Experience 1.97
Customer Service 1.88
Billing Quality 1.97
Likely to recommend? 1.52

Indiana Energy Ratings Score:

( 3.3 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low



This graph ranks Price, Plans, Promotion, Order Experience, Customer Service, Billing, Account Management, Likelihood to recommend and Overall score of Reliant

Reliant Energy is one of the original incumbent electricity providers in Texas that was spun off from their generation assets when Texas deregulated their electricity market in 2002. They are one of the largest and most recognized electricity providers in Texas. In 2009 Reliant Energy was purchased by NRG and has since expanded their service territories to include Illinois, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania and Washington D.C.

New Jersey based NRG, one of the largest energy conglomerates in the United States. NRG operates more than 25,000 megawatts of energy generation capacity, including nuclear, wind, solar, natural gas and coal assets.


Very good for the first year

(2.4 / 5)

  The plan is amazing for the first year. It is down hill from there on.

My rates doubled and they claim that the rates have gone up for the new year. When i check with my friends that sign up, i find out they have the same rates i had my first contract.

M
June 30th, 2020

We're sorry that you've had an unpleasant experience with our company. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm if you would like to discuss this issue further.

Reliant Responds July 8th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Far more expensive than other providers

(1.6 / 5)

  Worked with a local rep that went over with me how reliant would save me money. I decided to go ahead and sign up with her. Looking at my bills for the first two months I am paying literally double per kwh than I was paying infinite. Customer service could only offer to help me change my plan to one with a cheaper cancellation fee and would save me .6c per kwh. Moral of the story, do your own thorough math and homework. Dont go with Reliant.

Steve C
June 23rd, 2020

Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds June 25th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Be Aware! They Are Cheats

(1.6 / 5)

  For several years they charged extra money going towards some charity without permission. They count on us seniors not to read the bill in detail, and especially if its in Autopay thru credit card.
They also send inflated bills.
After many years of cheating I got rid of them never to return again.

Andy
June 7th, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds June 23rd, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

RELIANT SCAM

(1 / 5)

  Watch out for this company reliant nrg is a scam nothing they say is true I just found out they are not paying some of there workers for there hard work Due to Covid19

Jake
May 26th, 2020

We are sorry you may have had a negative experience with us. However to look into this issue, we will need more information from you. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or chat with us via secure chat: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds June 1st, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Mrs Drama Queen

(5 / 5)

  Hi as you may guess yes I am Mrs Drama Queen. I just became a customer today and power was scheduled for turn on today. I thought when i was approved with 0 deposit it was a good day that it was my lucky day. NOT! First off it was not from Reliant all that had happened , had happened. I had been living with my In-Laws for the past 7 months , 5 days , 4 hours , 57 mins. , and 15 seconds. Yeah that bad. Anyway a house my Mother In-Law owned all of a sudden became ours. My husband and I's. I had to go through drama to get the people living there out. Finally I had to get them evected. So out they went. I am not sure exactly when but they were gone by the time I went by yesterday checking to see if it was cleared so I could starting moving. Well people when you move into a new place dont forget to check everything including the utilities if they were on or off. As far as I knew they were on that pay as you go electric. I had told them a few days before to shut everything down that I wouldn't carry them , so yesterday I assumed all was off. Today I called around for Power and up tell Reliant none of the others made any sense. Seriously! When I was approved and told my Power would be on today. I was excited. My husband he has serious seizures. Especially in hot mugging weather , which was what it was like today. My husband has what they call Grandma Seizures which is the worse of it's kind. And almost all of the time when he has one he ends up in the hospital , at times as long as a month. Anyway after a hour went by I got on my tablet , found Reliant signed up waited about a hour then got on my tablet again , going to Reliant's web page and the lady who helped me ( think her name was Sandra ) was calm , polite , and very helpful. She assured me that the power would be turned on. So after logging off I waited for almost 3/4 hours. You ever have the feeling of pure panic run through-out your body? I did! I was scared out of my mind. My husband usually is the only one who can calm me down. Well he was Pail as a ghost. That's when I started calling again. What they on the other line didn't know , ( the Reliant Customer Service Person ) was I couldnt drive my husband to the hospital , and my tablet refuses to let 911 calls go through. I didn't tell them this , honestly I didn't think it would matter to them. Then my phone decided to have a mind of its own it kept shutting down , and always just when I was about done. It did this about 4/5 times , each time I had ( at least I thought I did) to start over. They , in total I believe was three no four operators , all started out with getting me calm and I would tell them what was going on , never failing right on cue that's when my tablet decided to venture on it's own. It shut off. Well this went on until the 5 time and then I think Juan C. Is his name. He stopped me before I got first sentence out , he said no problem that he'd would read the notes or what not and he'd be right back. Minutes later he was confirming the questions and concerns i had expressed to the other Operators. He said no problem got it. Guess what , yeap my Tablet went blank
I wanted to scream , but instead I cried. That's when it happen !Bam! Power! The Power came on. Well my husband is good. He took a cold shower and rested. As the night winds down I remembered what JuanC had said right before being disconnected, he said no problem I got it. And I'll be dam he did just that. Now I on the other hand , Yes I am doing fine but after spending 4 hours on and off the phone , not knowing what I'd do if my husband had one of those moments , I am now off to the liquor store I think it's a good night for me and Mr. Patron to get to know each other. Thanks Reliant for being what all the other electric companies swear up and down to be , but aren't. That's honest , caring , helpful in times of need , a friend.
Well all at Reliant
( Especially the ones that had come to my rescue )
Stay safe , and Healthy
And Please..........
" Be Safe "
" Be Happy "
" Have Fun "
" Peace Out "
Sign: A Very Happy Customer
Lisa C.

Lisa Coppage
May 26th, 2020

We are thrilled to hear that our customer service team was so helpful to you. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave us a review, Lisa. We are happy to provide great customer service and appreciate your business. We're always here if you need us.

Reliant Responds May 27th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliant is THE worst!!

(1 / 5)

  No one has lived in the property since I bought it four months ago. My bill has been 10-20 dollars a month. No AC on and the only electricity being used was to paint and landscape. I got the bill today and it was 210. Basically customer service said someone was stealing electricity or the meter was not working properly. They said I would have to call Texas/New Mexico to dispute the charge. If I have to do everything to resolve the issue then why on earth do I need to pay reliant. I wish we could just buy electricity from TNMP. Reliant is useless....THANK the Lord I fired them!

Sick of Reliant and CP
May 22nd, 2020

Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds May 27th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The Worst Utility Experience Ever

(1.2 / 5)

  I had been a customer for 6+ years, but when I tried to negotiate a new plan and waive the cancelation fee, they account services could not answer simple questions. The price of energy is at lows for the last 10 years, and I felt that they were not offering plans that were more affordable. I explained that if they would not waive the cancelation fee for a new plan with them, I would pay it to move my service elsewhere. The Rep I spoke to tried to convince me that it cost Reliant money to cancel my existing account, and didnt even attempt to treat me as though I was important to them. Instead he continued to explain what Reliant offered me (um, electricity billing). I will do everything I can to divert anyone else shopping electricity to never consider Reliant. Texas electrical plans are confusing enough, so dealing with people who dont even know their own products is terrible. Posting the same on their Facebook account about Reliant.

Sam
May 18th, 2020

We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with our company. We would like the opportunity to learn about your experience. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds May 19th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliants customers reps. LIARS

(1.2 / 5)

  On two different occasions I talked to two different reps. about my deposit.When I first signed up I was told it would be refunded after a year.Its been more than a year and nothing. I recently inquired about this and talked to the reps. One was a guy and the other a lady by the name Blanca.At first they both said it was supposed to have been returned to me.Than they both looked into the matter and told me they had given me a credit on my bill.Which they did not have my permission to do.They took it upon themselves to keep my refund.Which I believe is wrong.

Joe Vargas
May 12th, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds May 12th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent service

(5 / 5)

  The service is excellent, helpful staff and great experience

Vo
May 7th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

New provider coming soon !

(1.4 / 5)

  Not very helpful when you can't pay your full amount. Bill is way to high, $531 for 1 month I paid $500 they sent me a disconnection for $31 in a pandemic !!! Then they want you to call here fill out this read that in order to get a extension or help not for $31 someone else might be in worse shape than me help them. I can't wait till this contract is up !!

T.T
May 7th, 2020

Hi T.T, we appreciate your feedback. We take customer service very seriously and we're sorry for your experience. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 with your account information so we can look into this for you.

Reliant Responds May 7th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Never been a customer of Reliant but, I received dozens of invoices per week!

(1 / 5)

  About 2 months ago, Reliant started mailing me letters of introduction for new customer at many address all over the Houston area, I called Reliant to let them know that they are using my company name and my home address in the Austin area, receiving dozens of pieces of mail from them per week. They said they would take care of it. Did not stop, then Next I started receiving invoices and now past due invoices as of today. As often as I have phoned Reliant, they have identified someone else for the accounts, Reliant still cannot seem to take my name and my home address off these dozens of accounts that were opened by "someone" nor have they been able to stop the mail coming to my address during the investigation I was told was opened March 6th after I had phoned again. The box of dozens and dozens of mail from Reliant is overwhelming. When will this STOP Reliant ?

Thompson Realty Group
April 25th, 2020

We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with our company. We would like the opportunity to learn about your experience. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds May 7th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliable product and fantastic customer service

(4.2 / 5)

  While I used them for my needs, Reliant had reasonable rates and I never experienced an outage like I had from other providers. The place they really shined was helping me cancel their services, oddly enough! I spoke with a friendly support person who assisted me in terminating my account due to DV related issues. I would happily work with this company again just because they proved they cared more about my safety and wellbeing than my money.

Shawna
April 18th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Electric & Average Billing, Security Services, Security Deposits and Combined Billing

(1 / 5)

  I would NOT recommend Reliant Energy or Security to my worst enemy. First I had their electricity and everything was fine. Then I signed up for their security service and did the combined billing.....HUGE mistake. Apparently, their system had a few glitches that worked in their favor. According to their contract I guess in the fine print, you lose your $650.00 security deposit if you're 1 day late. Fast forward, whenever I made payments to my account, they would only apply the payments to the electric portion, even if I didn't have a past due balance. I noticed that and called in and spoke with a representative and she informed me that Reliant was aware of the issue and was currently working on the system to correct it. Four months later I get a disconnect notice stating my security was discontinued and that I had to pay almost $1200.00 for early termination even though I paid my bill every month. All money was applied to the electricity and the difference (amount left over after applying to electric only) was swept into the average billing account. When I called in a had a zero balance for electricity and four months of security open. When I tried to pay the open security charges, it took the Reliant representative an hour and a half to get their billing software to accept the payment. It would not apply the monies against the only open charges on my combined billed account. She had to keep putting me on hold and get assistance. Finally the system allowed her to apply the payment against the charges. Then I had to fight to get them to reverse the early termination charges that shouldn't have been charged in the first place. They tried to force me to sign a new contract, which would have put another year or so onto my contract. I said no and I wanted my contract reinstated back to what it was. I found out later after about three months of return phone calls and several emails to upper management that they kept my $600.00 security deposit for being late. Even though I paid my bill every month. I found out from a representative that it was a software issued and that the s..t just hit the fan about two weeks after I originally called in about it. The managers just had a meeting regarding the issue. Reliant is fee happy and will charge you for every little thing. They are not customer driven they are fee driven. Stay away and don't get caught up.

Smith
April 14th, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds May 7th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliant- Not the best rates

(2.8 / 5)

  While Reliant has been a good company to be with, I think resigning up with them has been unpleasant. They have good rates, but not the best. My bill price is the most important feature of my electric provider. They are not 5 star if they don't have the best rates. That is bottom line.

Rates are too high
March 20th, 2020

Thank you for your review. We would like to review your account with you and see if there is anything we can do. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds May 12th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

STAY AWAY! WORST EXPERIENCE EVER

(1.6 / 5)

  To make a long story short, my power was cut off without any notice or warning. No call, no text or anything saying it was going to be cut off. No email or call saying it was cut off. To make it worse, we just got back from vacation to find all the babies breast milk, meat, vegetables and so on wasted!.I call and the guy could give a crap. Im out of here. Worst service I have ever recieved.

Barrett
March 16th, 2020

Thanks for your feedback. We understand that having your service disconnected can be frustrating. We'd be happy to speak with you about your account and help resolve this issue. Please contact us at at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds March 18th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Everything glitter ain't gold

(1 / 5)

  Final bill was 950.00 bcuz of the estimating bill plan I chose they day. After 60 days it goes to collections.

BeetleLuv
March 7th, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds March 9th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not true

(1.6 / 5)

  I contracted the reliant energy for 2 years, the first year was good but the second year was not as they said. After 2 years terms over I canceled the relient and choose another company. They charge me $155 extra for leaving the reliant.
This is completely cheating to the customers, I never go back again this company and never recommend any people in my lifetime to purchase the plan with them.
This company is a one-time business company, be careful.

Josh Smith
February 29th, 2020

Thank you for your review. We would like to review your account with you and see if there is anything we can do. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds March 2nd, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Their price so expensive

(1 / 5)

  When I sign up with them by the phone they said I will pay for 6.9cent per kWh but when I got my bill they showed Im under average bill contract that means I have to paid over $300 each month either if I useless but I cant cancel contract now . Sh how crazy . Im just want to help you guy who ever want looking for energy companies should avoid to reliant if you dont want pay to much for your energy bill

Hd
February 26th, 2020

Thanks for your review. We would like the opportunity to review the account to see how we can help. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds February 27th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I do not recommend Reliant Energy.

(1.4 / 5)

  Reliant did not honor their contract!! Reliant management would not work with me and over charged me for a broken door bell camera and interior camera that never worked. I will never use Reliant again, GF!

I do not recommend Reliant Energy.
February 24th, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds February 25th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Telephone chat

(3.8 / 5)

  I chatted online with my phone to Brittany. I called asking for extension, I was able to get more time than originally requested. I want to thank Brittany for being so helpful and prompt in assisting me. She was very professional and I can tell she is very nice. Thanks again Brittany good job

Cindy
February 17th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions