421 Reviews and 108 Replies for Reliant

Reliant Logo
URC#:

Category Average Rating
Pricing and Plans 1.64
Order Experience 1.96
Customer Service 1.86
Billing Quality 1.95
Likely to recommend? 1.50

Indiana Energy Ratings Score:

( 3.3 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low



This graph ranks Price, Plans, Promotion, Order Experience, Customer Service, Billing, Account Management, Likelihood to recommend and Overall score of Reliant

Reliant Energy is one of the original incumbent electricity providers in Texas that was spun off from their generation assets when Texas deregulated their electricity market in 2002. They are one of the largest and most recognized electricity providers in Texas. In 2009 Reliant Energy was purchased by NRG and has since expanded their service territories to include Illinois, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania and Washington D.C.

New Jersey based NRG, one of the largest energy conglomerates in the United States. NRG operates more than 25,000 megawatts of energy generation capacity, including nuclear, wind, solar, natural gas and coal assets.


STAY AWAY! WORST EXPERIENCE EVER

(1.6 / 5)

  To make a long story short, my power was cut off without any notice or warning. No call, no text or anything saying it was going to be cut off. No email or call saying it was cut off. To make it worse, we just got back from vacation to find all the babies breast milk, meat, vegetables and so on wasted!.I call and the guy could give a crap. Im out of here. Worst service I have ever recieved.

Barrett
March 16th, 2020

Thanks for your feedback. We understand that having your service disconnected can be frustrating. We'd be happy to speak with you about your account and help resolve this issue. Please contact us at at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds March 18th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Everything glitter ain't gold

(1 / 5)

  Final bill was 950.00 bcuz of the estimating bill plan I chose they day. After 60 days it goes to collections.

BeetleLuv
March 7th, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds March 9th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not true

(1.6 / 5)

  I contracted the reliant energy for 2 years, the first year was good but the second year was not as they said. After 2 years terms over I canceled the relient and choose another company. They charge me $155 extra for leaving the reliant.
This is completely cheating to the customers, I never go back again this company and never recommend any people in my lifetime to purchase the plan with them.
This company is a one-time business company, be careful.

Josh Smith
February 29th, 2020

Thank you for your review. We would like to review your account with you and see if there is anything we can do. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds March 2nd, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Their price so expensive

(1 / 5)

  When I sign up with them by the phone they said I will pay for 6.9cent per kWh but when I got my bill they showed Im under average bill contract that means I have to paid over $300 each month either if I useless but I cant cancel contract now . Sh how crazy . Im just want to help you guy who ever want looking for energy companies should avoid to reliant if you dont want pay to much for your energy bill

Hd
February 26th, 2020

Thanks for your review. We would like the opportunity to review the account to see how we can help. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds February 27th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I do not recommend Reliant Energy.

(1.4 / 5)

  Reliant did not honor their contract!! Reliant management would not work with me and over charged me for a broken door bell camera and interior camera that never worked. I will never use Reliant again, GF!

I do not recommend Reliant Energy.
February 24th, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds February 25th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Telephone chat

(3.8 / 5)

  I chatted online with my phone to Brittany. I called asking for extension, I was able to get more time than originally requested. I want to thank Brittany for being so helpful and prompt in assisting me. She was very professional and I can tell she is very nice. Thanks again Brittany good job

Cindy
February 17th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliant a fraudulent company when it comes to billing

(1 / 5)

  Reliant was my energy service provider for quite some time, and things were ok as far as billing. I subscribed to their power surge warranty service program. After 2 years with them, I switched to a different energy provider and asked them to cancel the service including the warranty program as I wasn't using it. Well, they continued to charge me for that program despite me telling them in May to cancel it. Ultimately, I called their warranty subdivision directly to cancel, but even after that, they kept charging my credit card for that fee. I had enough and called my bank to dispute the last charge. What they did next, I can only describe as fraudulent for a company to do. They started charging me 25$ extra each time I disputed the charge. Throughout the process, they never responded to the dispute with the bank and instead continued to charge me 50$ extra on late fees for what was originally a 5$ charge of a service I had canceled well back in the past and if I don't pay it, they have threatened to send it to a collections agency. This company is egregious in its billing practices and if anyone wants to join a crusade to take them to court, I will gladly jump on that bandwagon!

Reliant an egregious company
February 16th, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds February 17th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam!

(1 / 5)

  I was a Reliant customer and after my contract was up, switched to another contract in Reliant. After about 3-4 months, I noticed that my monthly bill kept going up and up. I called and they told me I did NOT have a new contract and was paying the premium rate on a month to month basis. I decided to switch carriers because of their dishonesty. When I left they billed me $1700 for the money I saved in my contract for leaving. I made monthly payments to them to pay this off and they told me I would not be turned over to collections as long as I paid. THEY LIED! After 90 days, they referred me to a collection agency and my credit score dropped 96 points over night!!! I have talked to everyone to no avail. I am considering taking legal action. Steer clear of this second rate company!!

Renee G
February 11th, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds February 13th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

RUN...AND SWITCH TO A DIFFERENT CO.

(1 / 5)

  Zero! Military families near Fort Hood, take this advice. Do not use this company and if you are currently a customer, switch before it is too late. This is the Verizon of energy services. We learned the hard way, but you don't have too.

This company have plans that are made to trick customer into paying more. For example, if you select the 2,000W and you are under that amount you will pay penalties. If you select the 1,000W and go over that amount you will pay penalties as well. Their is no win-win with this company.

Their customer service will trick you into switching plans by telling you that changing the plan within the company is available to current customers. That is not true! You will be stuck with a plan that doesn't fit your needs. You will be paying, like us, over $400 a month in winter for a small house. Our bill used to be $60 or less in winter season since our house is heated by oil.

We decided to cancel our services in December 2019. Paid the final payment of over $350 with penalties on Jan 17, 2020. On February 2020, we received a bill for non-electrical charges. Yes, you read correctly. The company was charging for something other than electricity.

We contacted two customer reps regarding the surprise charges. It seems that the customer rep back in December 2019 was not smart enough to cancel a protection plan (hidden charges we did not know) when we requested to end the contract. It was only $6.99 but I was so upset. After two months I was still dealing with this unreliable company.

From one military spouse to another, look for another electrical company.

LUZ
February 11th, 2020

We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with our company. We would like the opportunity to learn about your experience. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds February 13th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Deferred Balance Hidden

(1 / 5)

  Word of advice do not ever ever sign up with Reliant there are just a bunch thief's I signed up for month to month average billing started the month of March with 1,144 KWH total cost with delivery charges , energy charges,ect $86 Fast forward to July for 2,000 KWH during a hot summer paid $135 total. Now November comes around the corner were at $223 for 1,150 KW. So we decided to leave Reliant as their prices went up tremendous come to find out on our last bill they charged us $384 for deferred balance which we were never told about the only thing the sales rep told us was that it was month to month.

Chris Klein
February 10th, 2020

Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds February 11th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Commercial building owner

(1.8 / 5)

  Reliant started out good, then they implemented "Demand charge" mid way through the contract. our KW usage remained the same, however the bill doubled due to the demand charge they decided to pass thru from center point. Reliant change the way they billed our account during the contract. FAIL (I just move the account and now have normal rates again. Thank you power to choose website.

Commercial building owner (demand charge)
February 5th, 2020

We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with our company. We would like the opportunity to learn about your experience. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds February 10th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cheating customer's

(1 / 5)

  I had a very bad experience I ever face with any energy providers in states . RELIANT is one of the worst and bad energy provider.
I took a night free plan and for every month Im using about 800 to 1200 kw per month the charges for the usage is 19.7 c /kw and there is a big gambling in collecting other charges on top of the kw uses that charger per month is $40 to $50 and these charges are never told by them.For a two beb room apt Im paying $240 every month even a big office space would not pay that much where the power get consumed in a high kw

I strongly tell all the families people who think the reliant to be there service . I urge them not to go with reliant , because the are cheating public

Yes
February 3rd, 2020

Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds February 4th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not sign up for Average Billing in the Summer

(1.4 / 5)

  I signed up for average billing with Reliant effective in September 2019 and realized in October that the average billing amounts were estimated way to high. Since I had started with Reliant in August, they were using just that one month as the average billing amount for my October bill. Anyone living in Texas knows that the August is the hottest month and the highest bill, not the average. I did not sign up for average billing to keep paying my highest bill of the year in the cooler months. Therefore, I began paying only for my actual usage and paid it in full about two weeks early.
I did not anticipate receiving a late penalty or a disconnect notice in November for not paying over and above what was due for my actual usage. The deferred balance is my own money to be held by Reliant (with no interest) for credit to future usage. Other utility companies Ive used have not done this. If I dont have extra to pay that month, I just dont get the credit to lower my bill later. Reliant has not seen reason on this issue and I will be contacting the Public Utility Commission.

Douglas Brooks
February 3rd, 2020

We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with our company. We would like the opportunity to learn about your experience. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds February 4th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont do it

(1 / 5)

  We Signed up for a plan we had seen that was advertised everywhere for the free nights and weekends( or so we thought ) -our bills were high before so we wanted to try and save money. Who knew the stress of high bills before could only get worse when we signed up for reliant -what were high bills before became Insane afterwards when we received bills with all the added in fees -what we had paid with other companies of $2-300 a month sometimes more became ridiculous with our highest being over $600 -you might think we are living in an icebox in the texas summer but no our ac is at 78 and I got to listen to 4 teenage boys complain about being hot all summer long -I weather stripped all gaps in doors and windows,used the tint on windows where the midday sun would hit,did everything I could think of but the bills still were insane-even during the cooler Christmas weather where we normally would be down in between $160 and $200 with other companies we were at around $500 -it wasnt even a cold year -called and spoke to someone and was told we actually signed up for the free night and weekend save your money plan which save 1c per KWH not the free nights and weekend plan we thought we had -called again and spoke to someone else who told us no we dont even have a free night and weekend plan -so tired of this endless game of maybe you will get them plan we advertise with the teeny tiny fine print that means it isnt actually what you think but youre stuck either way -cant wait to get away from this horrible company and its ridiculous advertising games -then they had the nerve to offer me average billing -wth why would I want average billing based upon the astronomical bills you already charged us ? So you can drive me over the edge for another year ? I dont think so

Britchick
February 3rd, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds February 4th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

When contract expires, you're rates will always go up!

(2 / 5)

  Everything was okay until my contract expired. The rate went from 11.0 to 13.0. Too many other companies to choose from with much better rates.

Dave
January 28th, 2020

Thank you for your review. We would like to review your account with you and see if there is anything we can do. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds January 29th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't Feed the Con Artists.

(1 / 5)

  My son and self moved into our 2 bedroom 1 bathroom house (less than 800sq ft) at the beginning of 2019, and our landlord recommended as Reliant as "one of the cheapest energy providers". I naively and blindly called Reliant to set up service. I spoke to a rude and uninformed woman (and the manager who called me a week later about my complaint about this representative was also rude and unprofessional) who sounded like she was taking my call in the middle of a daycare. After trying to make me pay a 500$ NON REFUNDABLE deposit, she was able to "come up" with a 75$ non refundable deposit option with their "Free Nights" scam - I mean plan. She told me it would be 17 cents per kWh (because at the time my credit was on the lower side), and quickly made me sign their e-documents before I had a chance to really read their terms of service. So I finalized the paperwork, and established service to our new home.

Firstly, a deposit because of lower credit should always be refundable if on time payments are made by the customer, which mine were always paid early. Secondly, I was quoted and told 17c/kWh, but it was actually 25 cents per kWh under the guise that my nights were free. Thirdly, low credit should never mean a higher kWh price, and that is straight up taking advantage of a single mom who had fallen on temporarily hard times.

After I received our first month's bill of 200$ for our teeny tiny home, I was a little worried, but not terribly so...until I steadily watched our electric bill climb from 200, to 300, to over 400$ a month for our little home! We are energy efficient, but not according to Reliant's lying app. We have all brand new energy efficient windows, appliances, and LED light bulbs for every light fixture. We did laundry at night during our "free hours" , and we kept the HVAC at 80 degrees in the summer and 60 degrees during the winter. We even had our water heater and HVAC serviced twice to see if we had any problems to create such high bills. We had the insulation and home checked for any areas that could be causing a draft. Everything was in working order.

Since they had locked me into a 12 month contract with an early termination fee, we froze and sweat in the dark all year, just waiting for our sweet release from these con artists. Finally the day has come where we have been freed from their overpriced clutches, and now have a green energy provider who has cut our electricity bill to a third of what Reliant was charging us! And guess what? ZERO deposit. Stay far, far away from these deceptive, rude con artists. There a dozen other providers that are reliable, friendly and a third of the cost. I wish I had done my research sooner rather than later (and that is my own fault), but I am hoping by sharing my experience I can at least prevent some innocents from being taken advantage of by this mega corporation. I will never use Reliant again, and I will continue to warn every person I know and meet of their deceptive practices and ungodly pricing.

Amber I.
January 14th, 2020

Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds January 15th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great at first...

(1 / 5)

  Reliant energy will find ways to rip you off once you have been when them for a while. Most importantly is how much they rip Texans off in the summertime! Also be wary of their contract cancellation policy as you only have 3 days from when you make any agreement with them. Total RIP off!!!
I tried to cancel my contract with them within 3 days after the contract started (so I could change providers), nope bad idea as it only lined their pockets further with a 225$ cancellation fee. Best advice is check out the PUCT website for power to choose price info.

Tux
January 6th, 2020

We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with our company. We would like the opportunity to learn about your experience. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds January 7th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pricey

(3.6 / 5)

  I have not been home (2 bedroom apartment ) in 1 month , and my bill is $150 . How !!! And I havent been home ..

JustWoW26
January 5th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst customer service and CHEATERS

(1 / 5)

  Reliant agent cheated about the plans and the customer service is awful in sorting out the issue.

RELIANT ARE CHEATERS
December 28th, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds January 2nd, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware!!

(1.8 / 5)

  Reliant was the easy option as an out of stater moving to Texas. Coming from a regulated utility state, it was a learning curve to understand the options and what they mean in Texas. After the promotion period wore off, I spoke on the phone to transfer service from our apartment to our house we just purchased. I also set an end date for the apartment and thought nothing of it. Several months later a mail forwarded a bill of over $400 for utility usage at that apartment I was no longer occupying. I disputed with Reliant, went through their process, they had no record of my ending service, but somehow had provided service to my house... Their final offer was a $50 credit off the balance which I declined to pay someone else's electric bill. They have now sent me to collections which I am fighting. Never ever sign up with a company as scummy and deceptive as Reliant!

don't do it!
December 19th, 2019

We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with our company. We would like the opportunity to learn about your experience. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds December 20th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just Energy


Fixed rate electricity and natural gas plans

View Rates  
Example Bill
loading...