Home > Read Reviews > Liberty Power


25 Reviews and Replies for Liberty Power

Liberty Power Logo
URC#:

Category Average Rating
Pricing and Plans 1.90
Order Experience 2.02
Customer Service 2.00
Billing Quality 1.72
Likely to recommend? 1.76

Indiana Energy Ratings Score:

( 2.2 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low



This graph ranks Price, Plans, Promotion, Order Experience, Customer Service, Billing, Account Management, Likelihood to recommend and Overall score of Liberty Power
Liberty Power was founded in Houston, Texas in 2001. While they do provide residential electricity, they specialize and concentrate on commercial electricity to businesses and government entities. Liberty Power is licensed to sell electricity in Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Massachusetts, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Texas and Washington, DC.

Unwanted soliciting in locked apt

(1 / 5)

  I get home from work with grocerys in hand a man in an orange vest is knocking on my neighbors door than stops me ask if i live here. Try to tell me we have been working on peoples elevtricity in the building. Trying to give people rebates asking to see my bill saying he can keep it at a fixed rate but not telling me id save anything by switching other than giving me a rebate. I told him hold on a minute as i get my groceries in the house he says take your time. Then proceeds to try and record the conversation and sign me up for 2 years. I told him wait one more second and j grab my phone telling him I was going to look up his business. He abruptly says I have other customers to help hands me a paper to contact liberty knocks on yet another neighbors door I come back out about to call the police for solicitation he sees me and walks out. There are quite a few elderly citizens in my building and they don't deserve this scam well no one does anyway if I see them again I will make sure I knock them square on the jaw and then call the police. The guy was extreme rude showing up at 5 pm. For anyone that says these people are a legit business they are obviously a paid cockroach working for them. Complete scum of the earth these people are.

Elevated citizen
May 10th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unsolicited

(1 / 5)

  This company comes into a locked community and starts knocking on doors. I dont know how they get into the building. I ask them how they get in and they say I work here. No you do not work for my complex. You work for Libery and you are not allowed to solicit here. I have called the police before on them. I thing they drop of people at complexes. Please stop. If we wanted your services we would call you!!!!. I will continue to call the police.

Concerned resident
April 8th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam company

(1 / 5)

  Please listen to me! NEVER SIGN WITH THIS COMPANY!!! It is such a joke! Our bill went from around $50 a month to $280 a month! Even when you call and cancel they will just all of a sudden add themselves a couple months later and now you have them again with out even agreeing to it! Want a refund? Good luck! You can call and call yet they don't do anything for you! Now we also receive daily calls from them. Not about our refund, but them offering us plans. If you are on auto pay and have had them before don't trust the cancelation, be sure to check your bill months after.

Jeff
March 21st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pretty good

(4.4 / 5)

  Nice pricing, customer service was prompt and knowledgeable. only took a few minutes to enroll

Jjordan
April 24th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sneaky pieces of s!

(1 / 5)

  Two representatives came in the house and began to speak with my father. The ask for our bill so they can see what we paid. They took a picture and called our company (reliant energy). That stupid rep broke our contract with Reliant!!! And we never signed anything or even gave them a yes!

Marilyn
March 12th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Verifier

(1 / 5)

  As a third party verifier I'm the one that you get on the phone with and answer a few questions. I read these questions and I see how much more you're paying than you would be with your current supplier. We're not allowed to answer any questions but if I could I would say DON'T SIGN UP WITH THEM!!!!! They are truly a rip off. The representatives are people I would hang up on or slam my door because there's names like "John smith" are not their real name. They sound Indian yet their name is john???? And those could be the biggest scammers unless you know for a fact it's a legit company. Do your research. Ask a lot of questions and if they can't answer it straight forward then it's most likely a scam. And if they rush you to me. The third party verification. Then listen carefully to my questions. We give you the true answers.

Negative
November 14th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

liberty review

(3.8 / 5)

  They are mediocre and I feel like there are better companies out their that can exceed in the level of performance this company has to offer because they dont really give you offers like other companies do

pien
March 15th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Telemarketing Scam

(0.6 / 5)

  I am a customer of ComEd Electric and not a customer of Liberty Power. I received a call today at 1:18 PM from phone #1-773-36-8882. A robot claimed to be calling from ComEd and said if Ive paid my bill on time for 6 months in a row and wanted to save 15% on my ComEd bill I should press 1 so I did. A man who claimed his name was Jason Smith (I highly doubt it) and had an exceptionally heavy Indian accent started to talk; I noticed a long delay in answering any of my questions, as if the call was occurring in an international call center, perhaps India. I asked him if he was a ComEd employee. He gave me a run around for awhile about being my supplier of fixed energy through ComEd. After much very direct questioning, he finally admitted that he was a supplier to some ComEd customers, and not my supplier and was trying to sell me on joining up with Liberty Power. I explained to him that I was on the federal Do Not Call List and that it was illegal for him to call me unless he worked for a non-profit or a company currently doing business with me. I told him I was going to report this breach and asked him to take me off his calling list for the future. I spoke firmly but professionally. He responded exactly this way Go fuck yourself! and then hung up on me. I find their telemarketing tactics to be illegal and deceitful, not to mention vulgar, and suggest that they stop trying to trick people in to thinking they are my power company and also stop calling phone #s on the do not call list. I also suggest they stop outsourcing call center jobs and hire Americans.

Jennifer Ruth
May 16th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sneaky company..

(1.4 / 5)

  They went to my house while I was extremely shitfaced and my roommates told me that it was a com ed lady saying that we didn't pay our bills. I was the one in charge of bills so it was my responsibility but I was positive I had paid all my bills on time. I was never aware it was a 2 year contract until after I had signed it so that caught me by surprise. I found this forum and was worried I'd be charged a termination fee but they told me since I was in a residential area that there was none but I'm worried there would be a surprise charge in the future..

Cassie G
October 22nd, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Complete Idiots! They will steal you blind!

(2.2 / 5)

  Liberty Power is the most brain dead company I have ever dealt with. We constantly get late fees applied to our account for a variety of nothing to do with us reasons. We have a large facility and have two electric meters. They continually apply the payment from one account to the other account and slap a late fee on the "underpaid account". Just now they refused to refund a late fee even though we have a cancelled check proving it was paid on time. They said we already got credit for a late fee (for the reason above actually) so they cannot credit another even though we have proof.

TT
May 12th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great AMERICAN Company

(5 / 5)

  First off, to all on here mentioning delivery charges being increased by Liberty - Sorry that is impossible in Texas due to PUC Laws. Secondly, most of the problems I see posted here, are not on Liberty but on the Independant Agent you signed with who works most likely for a poorly run direct marketing company.

I am the President of one of the Largest Energy Brokerages in Texas and we have Liberty, TXU, Reliant, Green Mountain, Champion, Direct Energy, Suez, Star Tex and Constellation. The largest and most stable energy company's in the world. All of which follow the same PUC Laws. If I were you people, Id find a new broker, one that knows what they are doing.

Finally, how many of you even know how to read your monthly bills? Looking at the amount and writing a check doesnt constitute understanding. Be smart, use your head and there would be no need for boards like this one.

William
March 17th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great AMERICAN Company

(5 / 5)

  First off, to all on here mentioning delivery charges being increased by Liberty - Sorry that is impossible in Texas due to PUC Laws. Secondly, most of the problems I see posted here, are not on Liberty but on the Independent Agent you signed with who works most likely for a poorly run direct marketing company.

I am the President of one of the Largest Energy Brokerages in Texas and we have Liberty, TXU, Reliant, Green Mountain, Champion, Direct Energy, Suez, Star Tex and Constellation. The largest and most stable energy company's in the world. All of which follow the same PUC Laws. If I were you people, Id find a new broker, one that knows what they are doing.

Finally, how many of you even know how to read your monthly bills? Looking at the amount and writing a check does not constitute understanding. Be smart, use your head and there would be no need for boards like this one.

William
March 17th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They set you up for late fees

(0 / 5)

  So, I get my bill which is dated the 16th of the month. I was out of town and upon returning went to pay my bill and saw that it was due on the first of the next month - 2 week turn around time! That's ridiculous. I called them and said this bill is dated 9/16; I'm not sure what date I would have received it because I was out of town but if it came in the mail on 9/20 or 9/21, I would have to write my check out that day and mail it just so it was received in time. As it was, I paid the late fee on 10/10 with the bill and then they start calling me looking for their money. I told them that there isn't enough turn around time. They told me they were calling me because they need 7-10 days to process my payment. What they want, which their customer service rep told me, is for me to call the day I receive the bill and pay by credit card or I should arrange for direct debit from my checking account. Neither of these options is acceptable to me. I pay thousand of dollars worth of bills a month and have never been late with a payment which is why this situation bothers me so much. I informed them that I would be switching, which I immediately did and got a better rate with Cirro Energy. If you are a residential customer with Liberty there isn't an early termination so I was glad to be rid of them.

Eileen
October 14th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SCAM SCAM SCAM

(0 / 5)

  I can never get through with a customer service rep. I tried cancelling and they have not processed the cancellation. 3 months later!

Betty
August 25th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

RIP OFF

(0 / 5)

  Be advised that Liberty will offer you a good kwh rate then slam you with an outlandish distribution charger.
When you call to complain about it, they will tell you that every electric provider charges the same. B.S. I found out that is a BALD FACED LIE. In addition, when I switched from my previous provider, I had to pay an outlandish "meter reading fee" due to Liberty's ineptitude. I would advise anyone looking to lower their dlectric rate, to look elsewhere. Liberty is a rip off.

Bill Earnst
March 3rd, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Wow... Best experience yet

(5 / 5)

  Just signed contract for 24 months - the experience was turn-key and price was fair.

Jefferson
February 20th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay Away!

(0.8 / 5)

  I signed up for electric power with Liberty Power after being offered a great rate and had a horrible experience. In fact it was so bad I chose to pay the early termination fee to get out of my contract and return to my previous carrier.

I have two complaints:

First, during the sign up I was uncertain of the exact date of my current contract's end date and said that my current contract expired sometime in June. I was not told that I should confirm the exact date and foolishly I assumed they would know what the date was. Liberty switched on June 1st terminating my current contract weeks earlier than the contract ended resulting in a $150 early termination fee. When I called to complain about it I was first told that it was unfair of my previous provider to assess the early termination fee and then that there is no way for Liberty to know when my contract ended and I should have checked. If I had been told to check I most certainly would have.

Secondly, I was sold power at a rate of $.064 per kilowatt hour. My last provider charged $.084 per kilowatt hour with a $4.95 per month delivery charge. Again I foolishly assumed the charges would be similar but in fact as a result of a much higher Transmission and Delivery Service Charge (never mentioned in the sales calls) I ended up paying an effective rate of $.093, much higher than I was paying or could have paid if I had renewed with my previous carrier.

In the end, my previous carrier waived my early termination fee and I returned to them. Although I was told by Liberty Power's Custom Service in effect 'buyer beware' and I should have known better than to let myself be swindled. I would not do business with Liberty Power no matter how inexpensive their product was or recommend them to anyone.

Mark
August 21st, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Love 'em

(5 / 5)

  This has been, by far, the best experience we have had with a commercial electricity supplier. They make sure you know before anything odd happens and i have the same rep contact me each time. I love their customer service and their pricing is awesome.

Richard Kinney
July 17th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Never Again!

(0 / 5)

  Liberty Power was very eager to sigh me up into
a contract after I have been on a variable rate
for about a year with very no problems.
However... they can't seem to "process" a new
contract until 2 full
billing cycles first. However, if your a new
customer you would have been signed up within a
week. They left me hanging for 2 months and
charged me the record variable rates at 23
cents per KWH. I tried to get out of my
contract since it did not start yet but they
informed me that I would have to pay the
cancellation fees. I felt as if they
intentionally held my new contract knowing that
they could screw me for the next two months.
They have no problem rushing me into the
contract but they take their sweet time to
process it. They gave me one BS story after
another. I will never do business with them
again!

Anonymous
September 14th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pricing is misleading

(0.4 / 5)

  This company is very misleading in its sales contract....be careful when they try to sell you a variable contract because they won't tell you their prices can skyrocket 300%, mine did, they didnt hesitate to tell me that it will go up even higher and then to put the icing on the cake, they said that's what I signed up for.

Anonymous
August 31st, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just Energy


Fixed rate electricity and natural gas plans

View Rates  
Example Bill
loading...