274 Reviews and 34 Replies for Just Energy

Just Energy Logo
URC#:

Category Average Rating
Pricing and Plans 1.52
Order Experience 1.58
Customer Service 1.50
Billing Quality 1.47
Likely to recommend? 1.31

Indiana Energy Ratings Score:

( 2.6 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low



This graph ranks Price, Plans, Promotion, Order Experience, Customer Service, Billing, Account Management, Likelihood to recommend and Overall score of Just Energy

Just Energy was founded in 1997 in Canada and has grown into a massive energy conglomerate that service more than 1.8 million customers in North America. They also have the distinction of being the largest competitive green energy retailer in North America.

Just Energy is part of a group of companies that offer natural gas in Ontario, Manitoba, Alberta, Quebec, British Columbia, New York, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, and California, and electricity in Ontario, Alberta, New York, Massachusetts and Texas.

Just Energy has also expressed plans for launching retail service in Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Connecticut, Maryland, D.C., Rhode Island, Georgia and Delaware.


Do NOT use this energy service

(1 / 5)

  had an account in my name. get my bill in my name. pay with my card in my name
just energy has all my info but is telling me i can't cant my service cuz im not the holder. I am. I made sure before when i had an issue. Now I cannot cancel my service. WILL NOT USE AGAIN. DO NOT RECOMMEND

Maria
June 11th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best Customer Service

(5 / 5)

  Really helpful customer service and affordable bill. Roughly stays between 50-70 for my 3 bd house on the Nights Free Plan

Ana Gil
June 11th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not overpay with credit

(1.2 / 5)

  Do not overpay and have a credit with these people . I used to pay an overpayment of about $300 to $400 to keep my bill where I wouldn't have to pay it until the money went down to around $75. I sold my house and when I went to ask for my over age which is around $270 they refuse to pay it because they said they weren't responsible for me over paying. I don't have the mental capacity or time to fight these people but that's illegal

Virhilio Espinosa
June 10th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst energy company

(1 / 5)

  Just Energy promised that their prices would be more than half what I was paying with Reliant. We have had them for 3 months now and all 3 bills have been at least double what I was paying with Reliant. Also they promised a $45 gift card to Sams Club for signing up with them and I have never received it. This company is a scam and they are liars. Check elsewhere if you are looking for an energy company. I am switching back to reliant ASAP. I would give them zero stars if I could.

Ryan
June 10th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Total Scam

(1 / 5)

  I met with Just Energy when I was shopping at a store. Just Energy agent told me that I would be paying less with Just Energy. I asked them about their rates but they told me that they cannot provide me rates without signing up. They told me it is easy to cancel after signing up. I signed up and realized that the rate is not lower than the rates with my existing electricity provider. I have been demanding to cancel my enrollment with Just Energy to stay with my existing provider. Otherwise I will be paying additional cancellation fees due scam Just Energy Agent lying people to make them sign up to get a commission.

agur0659@gmail.com
June 8th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't sign up with Just Energy!

(1 / 5)

  My service was up thru another carrier on 5/02/2020. I called Power to Choose on 3/20/20 and they set me up with Just Energy. Down Hill after that. Just energy cancelled my confirmation twice. It was their mistake. First time was incorrect social security number. They never called to get the correct number. The 2nd time was also their error as someone forgot to change their system to completed. Again they never called. I called on 6/2/2020 to find our why I was getting bills from my previous carrier and was told the above and was lied to my my C.S. rep. in Columbia, Mayerly. I called back the following day and talked to Laura also of Columbia only to be lied to again. I called again on 6/5/20 and talked to Anna in Houston only to be begged not to talk to a supervisor. After I insisted I talked to Alex only to be told she had to transfer me to new customer set up plus I had to pay the previous cancelation and send the bill into them for reimbursement. I needed to trust her. Right! after being lied to time and time again.

Bell
June 5th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ruthless

(1.4 / 5)

  I always pay my bills on time. I received a collection email from Just Energy. I called their customer service on two occasions, as the first number did not work. They were zero help and could be understand me. It was a joke. They had not answer. It was like a scam. I filed a complaint with the BBB. Still no answers. We made a big mistake using this company and will switch immediately. Do not use!

Disappointment in Ohio
May 25th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible service

(1 / 5)

  Theyr'e about as greedy as a rich kid who got cut off.. i paid 1 day, i repeat 1 day late during this covid-19 bullsh*t by accident cuz i never pay attention just pay when i get paid. 4 days later i received a disconnect notice. They do not care about their customers, they are always rude as heck when i call... Usually i don't cuss but after 7 years of their bullsh*t, i expect i customer appreciation not, oh hey you're late 1 day lets disconnect your service when obviously so many people are out of work.

Steph
May 14th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

disappointed customer

(1.2 / 5)

  I thought I was having a good experience with this company for the last 3 years not once have I had my lights off but as soon as we are in a crisis they cut my lights off 10 days after the due date. Its not my fault Im on furlough, at least be a little more concerning instead of cutting my lights off. Thats sad I hope I can find another electric company with the same perks. Im very disappointed

Tiffanie
May 8th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Go Anywhere but Just Energy

(1 / 5)

  Worst experience Ever with a company

JT
May 3rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This Company is Sad.

(1 / 5)

  When I moved to Dallas County several years ago I picked Just Energy. I am Disabled which the company knew this.I kept my bill up to par but due to my divorce I had to call to make an arrangement. I paid when I said I would and life was good. I thought wrong I finally moved into my new home and was charged an additional $200. I still don't understand where the amount came from today. (?) So I called and asked if they would work with me mainly because my bill was almost $500. I had to speak with a Supervisor to do so. I asked her to look over my past account to see how well I paid. I was told they made changes so my past history doesn't matter. She finally worked with me and gave me an arrangement. Months later 6-9 months I received a large bill again. I was told they only do arrangements once a year. So I had to miss another bill to pay it.
COVID-19 pandemic came. My bill kept going up. Finally I truly needed help due to the Entire World going through. I spoke to a rep every other day and said I would pay it Friday. Every day someone called. Finally a rep said they see my notes and its note Friday. That Friday morning my service was disconnected before 9am. When I called they didn't care. This was doing the pandemic and I am Disabled. They did not care...I am no longer with Just Energy. Be careful.

Londa
May 1st, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They disconnected my service doing COVID-19

(1.2 / 5)

  They disconnected my service doing COVID-19. My bill was only $100, I walk in the house and my son is literally sitting on the couch in tears because he didnt know what was going on. $100 and Ive been a customer for over 10 years wow thanks a lot.

Mia Perez
April 29th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Call Just Energy about my bill. My rate per kilowatts went from 9.8 to 18.3 due to not getting renewal papers. I have been with the energy company for 6 years. The factor that my bill jumped tremendously and they were not will to do anything about it. Spoke to Cynthia on 4/8/20 and she stated that it would be changed to 10.8 kilowatts and that was a lie. I called and to spoke to the supervisor on 4/11/20 and he was rude and not very compassionate. Due to the fact that with the Covid-19 going on my bill going to jump to $400.00. I feel like they priced gauged. I will be call the news and inform them of what they did. People dont have jobs right now and this what they do.

(1 / 5)

  Will never recommend anyone for there electric service

Deborah Donnell
April 11th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No compassion

(1 / 5)

  Right now with the Covid 19 you would think they would have more compassion on those who cant afford their bill... I ask for a day or 2 extension until my first unemployment check comes in and they couldnt do it they wanted a partial payment. If I had a partial payment I wouldnt of paid it. I am very unhappy and very unpleased after spending an hour and 45 minutes on hold to get through to speak to someone. I will be making a Switch to someone who has better compassion for others when there is a world pandemic!

Chasandra
April 11th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip Off

(1.4 / 5)

  My bill has a different due date each month. I have excellent credit and pay all of my bills on time, however I missed a payment by 2 days and was charged $20 in late fees during the COVID-19 PANDEMIC. Im cancelling service as soon as my contract is over.

Irritated Customer
April 3rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Switched from another electricity unwillingly

(1 / 5)

  I was stopped at Sams Club by your agent who tried to convince me to switch to the free weekend plan. She made me sign an agreement and gave me a date when the service will be switched. She also gave me a number to call in case I decided to stay with my company and not switch. I went home and after reviewing my bills, I decided to not switch. I called Just Energy and requested not to switched. I explained the reason. The agent put me on hold and when he came back, he confirmed that I will not be switched. What was/is my surprise when my current electricity sent me a letter saying they were sorry i was leaving !I started getting emails and statement of welcome from Just Energy ! I think that is tricking people and making them sign an agreement and not honor what they said. That is simply dishonest. I dont have time be on the phone to fix this. Im stuck with Just Energy for 36 months! Dont sign anything in the store unless you like the plan!

Not happy
April 1st, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

New Member

(5 / 5)

  I love to see my bill is no longer over $450.00. Most of all I appreciate that you monitor our Electricity and sending me update on weekly usage.

Valentina
March 31st, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not choose them!

(1 / 5)

  We signed up in our local sams club and have switched because the rates were too high. The salesman said that there would be no fees and then when we switched they charged us a exit/switch fee. They will not refund the money saying I signed the contract. Spoke with manager and they said they would take care of it. Its been a month and nothing and now my bill is overdue and nothing. They have been very hard to get a hold of and work with. They lie to people! Please dont use them! Horrible customer service!

Tina
March 24th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just Energy Dissatisfied Customer

(1.2 / 5)

  Where do I start. First off I've been going back and forth with just energy about my bill. I paid my bill on Friday 13th and upon checking into the bank account on Monday I saw that my payment had posted to my checking account. Well, around 12:45pm my lights get turned off for non payment. You can't reach customer service unless you sit on the phone for two hours and then you have to go to the chat. To be clear, just energy has put me through undo hardship for no reason. I moved to a new address and was told since I had not changed service providers nothing would change on my account including my account number. After four months of paying all of a sudden my old account was deactivated and now I have a new account number. I have screen shots of the conversations and of my bill payments with the old supposedly deactivated account number. My question is how was I able to pay and my lights were never disconnected. I have lost all trust in just energy and would never recommend them to anyone. And buy the way after having to pay the same payment again and a reconnect fee, I was informed that the payment that was supposed to take two to three days to so call raise from the old account to the new account had already posted. Just energy, inform your agents to be clear when dealing with your customers. By the way we had the money and could've paid the account if it had been made clear that it may cause a delay in our service. My advice, screen shot your conversations so when they try to dispute what was said to you, you can come back and let them know that you have the original conversation. Will be looking into getting a new service provider.

Ada Olasebikan
March 17th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay Away

(1 / 5)

  I signed up at Sam's Club with an eager salesperson. I told him that I probably wasn't going to be in my house for very long and he assured me that it was fine--that there would be no termination fees when I moved. He also assured me that my bill would be much lower (it never dropped at all and was, in fact, slightly higher). Upon moving, I received a bill for a $50 termination fee. I tried to call to have it resolved and never got through after literally hours on hold. I then sent a private message which has, to this date, never been looked at, much less responded to. Four days after receiving the first bill, I received a second notice that I was going to be referred to a collections agency soon if I didn't pay. I just disconnected service about 2 weeks ago! I refuse to pay this disconnection fee, and am planning to file a complaint with the BBB and seek out other action. My understanding is that this company has a mountain of complaints against it. STAY AWAY FROM THEM!

John
March 17th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions