301 Reviews and 111 Replies for Gexa Energy

Gexa Energy Logo
URC#:

Category Average Rating
Pricing and Plans 2.23
Order Experience 2.56
Customer Service 2.28
Billing Quality 2.28
Likely to recommend? 1.96

Indiana Energy Ratings Score:

( 3.4 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low



This graph ranks Price, Plans, Promotion, Order Experience, Customer Service, Billing, Account Management, Likelihood to recommend and Overall score of Gexa Energy
Gexa Energy started in 2002 in the Texas deregulated energy market. Gexa services all Texas markets where electricity service has been deregulated. They were acquired by NextEra Energy, Inc. in 2005.

Gexa Energy is rated A+ by the Better Business Bureau.

Easy Peasy......

(4.2 / 5)

  Dawn Pletcher
Service was turned on quickly. Very easy to sign up for service on website. Better service thus far than any other electric company I have been with in 20 something years. Haven't gotten a bill yet so I am not sure how to grade on that. So far so good.....

Dawn Pletcher
March 4th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

So far, so good. No issues.

(4.2 / 5)

  Sign up was easy and I haven't experienced any issues. I would have liked to have seen more plans to choose from. There are more plans but they didn't show up on the site I was using. Otherwise, no issues so far.

Jonathan Julius
March 1st, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Shop around

(1 / 5)

  Terrible customer service & ridiculously high hidden fees.... Gexa Energy will double your rate without notice. Signed up in 2016 and was paying $140.00 a month, three years later, same 1800 sqft apartment my monthly bill is now $500.00! November 2019 - February 2020.

Shop around
February 19th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Run Away DO NOT Sign up

(2 / 5)

  First of all be aware that the price advertised does not include your electricity delivery change. This means that when they are advertising a 8cent per kwh charge you actually end up paying about 14 cent per kwh plus other fixed charges. I am currently trying to get out of this scam.

Current Customer
February 13th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Wouldn't recommend to my worst enemy

(1 / 5)

  I recently moved to Irving, Texas from Idaho and have nothing but terrible things to say about Gexa. We live in a 4 bedroom, 2100 sq ft house. Our bill has a $150 base fee and then we're charged $10.8/kwh on top. Our average monthly bill is about $200 - $250 and it sucks. Tried to call them to get some reasoning, but I don't think they have anyone who speaks English and wouldn't help us.

Jared
February 2nd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Deceptive Theives

(1 / 5)

  We signed up with these crooks after purchasing our house. So we had roughly 1 month at our old home and then switched service to the new house. This is where the problems started. We signed up for auto draft, but it wasn't taken out after we moved so I mailed a check. They cashed the check and then autodrafted our account the next day, over $100. I figured no big deal, it will roll over as a credit for next month. NOPE. We called and called and called and they kept saying there was no credit on our account. Well, there's definitely a negative balance, hence the (-) in front of the amount. They collected a payment twice and it was never reflected on a bill. Fast forward a month, my husband told them we would expected the credit on our account and would pay the bill when that had happened. They charged us over $90 in illegal notices (check out Texas Usery Law, this is 100% illegal.) stating our account was past due + a late payment fee that exceeds the 18% interest (annually) allowed by law. Of course we paid the bill. The next month, they shut off our electricity prior to the due date and charged us over $100 in re-connect fees. Our bill for this month is $290. The same times last year, our bill was TXU was $130. This company is a total sham and the power to choose website is providing false information. With the $100+ they are charging in fees + the $100+ in transmission fees, I will happily pay the early termination fee and send my money to more reputable company.

Katie
January 20th, 2020

Hi Katie: our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds January 21st, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not recommended for low consumption

(3.6 / 5)

  The website and the payment methods are easy but the rate is quite high if you don't really consume

David
January 13th, 2020

Hi David, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.

Gexa Energy Responds January 16th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cheapest electrical available but you get what you pay for.

(2.6 / 5)

  Like so many others I'm struggling with my budget and trying to make ends meet this often means that due dates on bills have to slide. This I am 50 plus years old now and in my entire life I have never known an electric provider there won't 1st issue you await warning and then 30 days later issue you a disconnect notice. I have noticed with Jackson energy if you were just 2 days late with your payment they issue a disconnect notice. The good thing is they're finally sending it correctly the bed thing is these idiots turn me off the Day After Christmas without proper notice. I am now one day late with my Jan bill and they have issued a disconnect notice even though they agreed I would pay this Friday when I get paid. Unless you are flush with ready funds to pay them on time 100% and remember to do so avoid this company like the plague...

Big Hoss
January 7th, 2020

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We know that losing power in your home is a stressful situation. Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds January 16th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Hight ratea

(1 / 5)

  The quote give was no where near my contract rate. Was not give until afyer service was ordered

Veronica
December 13th, 2019

Hi Veronica, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds December 16th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Plans are great, but heaven help you if you are late with your bill.

(2.4 / 5)

  The Gexa grinch is showing up at my house for Christmas this year. I am a mere 4 days late with my payment due the way my pay periods fell this time, and Gexa wasting no time whatsoever has already issued a disconnect order. Every other electric provider would let you slide up to a month if you needed, but Gexa is unwilling to budge. I deeply regret jumping on board with them for the low costs.. The low costs are great, and the customer service people are okay, but they are being limited harshly on how flexible they can be by their company policies. I wish it wasn't this way, but it is what I have to deal with while this contract runs out.

BigD
December 10th, 2019

Hi BigD, thanks for bringing this to our attention. We will share your feedback with the Gexa Energy team.

Gexa Energy Responds December 11th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Its ok

(3.4 / 5)

  Customer service is good and the experience was good but prices are too high for me. I was paying a lot monthly bill with frontier and made the mistake to switch to gexa. Im back with frontier. I lost a lot of money for a year but guess i should have done better plan.

Fran
December 4th, 2019

Hi Fran, thanks for bringing this to our attention. We will share your feedback with the Gexa Energy team.

Gexa Energy Responds December 5th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Autopay

(1 / 5)

  I have tried for months to have my card run on autopay. I don't want to hear "use a card that works" again. It's not that because the card that is on the account runs just fine when I press pay with it. I have contacted customer service...if you can call it that...several times. They say the same thing over and over. Done with them, switching power companies in the morning.

Dean
December 2nd, 2019

Hi Dean, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds December 5th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

High prices

(1 / 5)

  I recently switched to Gexa & this has got to be the most expensive electric company I have ever had. There are addl charges they DONT tell you about in the beginning. Im trying to decide if I should cx my service & go elsewhere. My bill for the month of Oct/nov (keep in mind it was cold I never used ac & I have a gas heater) was an ungodly amount of $445! This is ridiculous! The highest I ever paid (in this house for 6 yrs) was 189. This time of year. Even in summer I never paid this high of a bill! Idk who gives them all these 5 stars but u have got to work for them or they are paying for these great ratings. Oh and I am on a plan that is 6.9kwh. Yea ok in no way does this constitute a $445 bill for 1 month w no ac & did I mention I was on vacay for 12 of the days w everything off & no one in the house!

Lesley S.
November 15th, 2019

HI Lesley: Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Did you know Gexa has a 60-day Happiness Guarantee? If you are not happy with your current plan, please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. Our Customer Care will reach out to discuss other Gexa plans that may work better for your usage amount. Learn more by visiting: http://www.tinyurl.com/HappinessGuarantee. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.

Gexa Energy Responds November 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst electricity

(1 / 5)

  They stole your money. I spent 2 weeks in my vacation in Orlando and my bill that months was 150,00 I live by myself. I dont have too much stuff and I went to the trip being sure everything was turn off. They really just stole your money.

Vinesa
November 12th, 2019

Hi Vinesa, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds November 13th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sky high prices

(2.2 / 5)

  I switched to Gexa thinking I would save money but my bill doubled! Literally double. I was especially surprised because I switched to Gexa September, after the hot summer months. I was rarely using air-conditioning compared to my use during summertime, so I'm not sure how I managed to rack up such high bills. I'll never use them again.

L
November 11th, 2019

Hi L: Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Did you know Gexa has a 60-day Happiness Guarantee? If you are not happy with your current plan, please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. Our Customer Care will reach out to discuss other Gexa plans that may work better for your usage amount. Learn more by visiting: http://www.tinyurl.com/HappinessGuarantee. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.

Gexa Energy Responds November 13th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Plans

(3.8 / 5)

  Wish I would have chosen a different plan! I didnt use enough electricity this month. Was charged $40 more because of it.

JR
November 6th, 2019

Hi JR: Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Did you know Gexa has a 60-day Happiness Guarantee? If you are not happy with your current plan, please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. Our Customer Care will reach out to discuss other Gexa plans that may work better for your usage amount. Learn more by visiting: http://www.tinyurl.com/HappinessGuarantee. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.

Gexa Energy Responds November 6th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexa can cut your electric bill in half

(5 / 5)

  I called Gexa engery before we change and they were the most nicest people I've ever worked with

My worries are over Gexa did what they said they would guy didn't lie like other companies
October 29th, 2019

Hi Alvin, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.

Gexa Energy Responds October 30th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very Poor Customer Service

(2 / 5)

  I signed up for auto-pay as soon as I signed up for the service. So far, I've received 2 disconnection notices, one for each of the months I've received a bill. Neither month did they attempt to take the payment via auto-pay. I was told the first time that it was a partial month and I accepted that. I called the second time and was told it's my fault, remove the auto-pay and reenter it. I asked to speak with a manager, but was told they were too busy.

Poor Customer Service
October 29th, 2019

Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds October 30th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Usurious charges

(1.2 / 5)

  In the two months I had Gexa service I had my two highest electric bills in 20 years.

J
October 22nd, 2019

Hi J: Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.

Gexa Energy Responds October 22nd, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rates

(2.6 / 5)

  My bill has never been higher except with Griddy. The Delivery charges are ridiculous.

Shari Brown
October 18th, 2019

Hi Shari: Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.

Gexa Energy Responds October 22nd, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just Energy


Fixed rate electricity and natural gas plans

View Rates  
Example Bill
loading...