178 Reviews and 86 Replies for Frontier Utilities

Frontier Utilities Logo
URC#:

Category Average Rating
Pricing and Plans 1.87
Order Experience 2.08
Customer Service 1.67
Billing Quality 1.60
Likely to recommend? 1.44

Indiana Energy Ratings Score:

( 3.4 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low



This graph ranks Price, Plans, Promotion, Order Experience, Customer Service, Billing, Account Management, Likelihood to recommend and Overall score of Frontier Utilities
Frontier Utilities was founded in 2008 by two pioneers of the Australian and New Zealand retail electricity markets. In February of 2012, they were sold to a group of Texas based investors. The currently serve retail and commercial customers in both Texas and New York.

Not Willing to Work with Their Customers

(1 / 5)

  Used this company on a 12 month contract for about $150/month for about 2000 kWh/month which wasn't too bad. When the contract was ending, there was no letter or email sent to notify me. The 13th month went to their highest rate and my bill was over $325! I called customer service and they offered me $50 off that bill if I would sign another contract with them. I found a better rate with another company the following day.

When using their service, I had tried to have their service started at other properties that I manage. Service was promised but not connected. I contacted customer service to find out what the problem was. Someone had decided that a deposit was needed on each account when I was previously told that it wouldn't be necessary.

DON"T USE THIS COMPANY!!!

Mike Sims
March 7th, 2020

Mike Sims we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer, and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve. Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further? Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you

Frontier Utilities Responds March 9th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sorry I ever signed up

(1 / 5)

  First of all I was a bit put off by a person coming to the door to sign us up. I should've politely refused but He talked a good game and my husband and I decided to join. Months later I get a letter that my service is being returned to my electric company for an outstanding supplier charge. I have been waiting on hold for quite some time to get an explanation. When I first called, the auto service asked for my account number and told me that it didn't exist. Then customer service rep asked for multiple items when to me the account number should have sufficed. All this seemed to do was add to my bill and I have seen NO benefit or savings. One thing for sure, I will never use anything beyond my local company again!

JB
March 4th, 2020

JB we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer, and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve. Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further? Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you

Frontier Utilities Responds March 9th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont ever be 1 day past due date!

(1.4 / 5)

  Forgot to pay bill by one day and I got a disconnection notice. Then when I got my next months bill I got charged a late fee plus a $20.00 fee for the disconnection notice. My payment was one day late! Run the other way dont use Frontier!

Unhappy customer!
February 18th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Review

(5 / 5)

  Good. Hope it stays that way.

Frances Davis
February 14th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My bill is outrageous. 92 added on for oncor. Stupid

(1.2 / 5)

  Don't understand and no one will talk to me

Jesse Sheffield
February 8th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Price gouging

(1 / 5)

  Frontier Utilities is corrupt feeling with showing low rates but charging extrealy high rates and customer service designed to frustrate customers rather than providing people who can actually help.

Frustraded
February 4th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Door to door scam artists!

(1 / 5)

  A salesman pretending to be a utility worker came to my door in a flurry saying that there was an issue with my gas and electric. After an hour of him standing in my kitchen, he talked me into joining Frontier. I called and asked my current electric company if Frontier was legit. The rep said technically yes. It is possible for them to offer you a cheaper rate. She said the current company I was with charged at 5.4 cents per KHW. The salesman claimed around 2cents per KHW and promised that my monthly bill would now be half the amount. Same with my gas company. Of course that sounded great. He also said that I was due $100 refunds from my electric and gas companies. Also a bonus. Ive been a little iffy about what I signed up for. I received 2 letters in the mail today both from Frontier, 1 for my electric and 1 for my gas. The cost per KHW was twice the amount of my original carriers!!! The contract wasnt void until my carriers made the official switch which thankfully hadnt happened yet so I was able to cancel the contract otherwise I would have been locked into Frontiers insane prices for a year. And of course the refunds were a scam. Everything I was told was a lie. Dont let them cheat you!!!

Leigh
February 3rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great for first time customers

(3.6 / 5)

  The No Hidden Fees plan I chose was great value this year. The renewal plans they offered me when it expired are not so great.

Mitch
January 20th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SINCERELY DISAPPOINTED

(1 / 5)

  I made the switch under the false pretenses of it being cheaper than Gexa and thinking that we would be switching to a better option for our family we are actually paying more than we did at Gexa and were told by a representative to use less electricity because there was nothing she could do when I called to ask after the second bill asking if there were other options for us.

DO NOT GET THIS COMPANY
January 10th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip off

(1 / 5)

  They don't notify that your term is up, they just raise the rate and don't change it when you call to notify them.

MR
November 19th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Electric Comapany

(1 / 5)

  There was a problem with every bill, after 3 months I canceled and paid cancellation fees, I am very happy to cancel the service.

Sohail Rizki
November 11th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst billing company in the industry

(2.6 / 5)

  I've been paying a utility bill for over 30 years. In all this time I have NEVER received an email, text AND phone call 1 day after it was due threatening disconnection for non payment. They do offer days to get it paid before they disconnect service but to even do that 1 day after it's due?? Very disappointed in this company and will not be renewing my service. In fact, I'll probably be cancelling and going back to my previous provider and pay a higher rate just I won't be HASSLED by these people every day. It will be paid and only 1 week late yet I'm going to be called and hassled every day now until that time. THIS IS RIDICULOUS AND IN NO WAY PROFESSIONAL FOR ELECTRIC SERVICE

PISSED OFF CUSTOMER
November 2nd, 2019

gary_vineyard@hotmail.com,
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service we provided. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and we appreciate your feedback. We issued the Disconnect notice a day after the due date of your bill, we send you notifications about your invoice due date previously. Please let us know if we can further assist you. We are open Monday to Friday 7 am until 6:00 PM CST. We are also here to serve you on Saturdays from 8:00 AM to 2:00 PM.


Thank you.
Sincere

Frontier Utilities Responds November 8th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Frontier sucks

(1 / 5)

  I had frontier for about half a year. First few months I was rarely home. An lived in a small trailer. My bill was always over a hundred bucks. My father put his credit card on auto pay. He paid my bill one month online his self. Next day another transaction was made. He called to ask if I had authorized it. I said NO. I knew he had just made a payment. I called an was told that the company took out the payment for the next month. How could they bill me for a cycle that wasn't due yet. Most importantly, the took that money without consent. I should have looked into a suit. After i called I was told that the amount they took could only be sent by check. Since it was a bigger amount I figured they could just keep it an return what we did authorize back on the card. An not have to wait for any check. My next to bills were horrible. They charged me like I made a payment that wasn't accepted. In not even a two month period i was bill 1000 dollars. Which is impossible to do. I often shower an use the bathroom with candles. So I knew right away something was wrong. My lights were cut off. While I had my new born daughter. I had made a payment of 200 to get my lights back on. Which they refused to do. Basically they wanted me to pay for their mistake. We paid, 200 that day an over 400 previously to try an get caught up. But they wanted another 400. To get the lights back on. I quickly changed light company. I have eight children. An try to use light considerably. I have never had any problems paying any light bill in my life. Only with frontier. I'll never forget this horrible experience...

Stephanie Perry
October 22nd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best value and quality

(5 / 5)

  It was easy and seamless. They had the best price without all the fine print . Simple straight forward and no hassle .

Value provider
October 21st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BEWARE

(1.2 / 5)

  Took out a past due and current balance when I tried to pay by phone. I was paying the past due only because I'm really low on money right now and they cleaned my account out and when I called to correct I got a robotic, couldn't care less attitude. I had to file a dispute with my bank just so I could access funds for food and gas until my next payday in TWO weeks. Not good at all.

Ken S.
October 21st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay away!

(2 / 5)

  Frontier Utilities gave me a great rate for 6 months and said that they would send a letter to let me know that my agreement was up and it would give the option to continue or cancel. I found a better rate with another company and tried to cancel Frontier Utilities through e-mail and phone and it still showed on my bill, however the rate went from 7 cents a kWh to almost 13 cents a kWh! Still couldnt get anyone to cancel! I had to go to DLC to get it changed! This is a classic bait and switch if you ask me. Walk away!

Braden
October 8th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Watch your contract date...and watch the rates then.

(1.8 / 5)

  My fault for not paying attention and letting this run on auto-pilot, but apparently once your contract period ends, the rate starts growing rapidly. As billing and payment were automatic, I'm sure they fulfilled exactly as the contract stated, but once it's over...you better be paying attention! Convenient for me that this was so automatic, but very lucrative for them if you're not watching once the contract period is over. I get it that they don't sustain their promotional rate, but the way it's grown seems like price gouging.

I'm sure it's prevalent with all electric providers, but it's a shame that their practices punish what really could be a good and steady customer base.

Howard
August 31st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Guerilla tactics

(1.4 / 5)

  A representative (who did not say who she was with until 3 minutes into her spiel) knocked on our door late at night, and immediately launched into a long stream of consciousness about our current utility rates and how she was going to lower them, she took our utility account numbers without giving us an option or questioning if we wanted to switch providers (which it wasn't even clear that was what was happening until the very end when we were speaking with a third party verification company). Not pleased that we were not even solicited for our business with their service but nearly forced into the decision without being given information, a choice, or even time to think or process what this lady was saying to us. I find it very objectionable that this is the way the company obviously trains their employees to enroll customers.

KHS
August 28th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't take the bait!

(1.8 / 5)

  They are very deceptive on their pricing. Their customer service is a call center in Latin America. No real answers/solutions.

Frontier is a joke.
August 20th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Nickle and Dime you

(1.6 / 5)

  Did not know this before I signed up for Frontier if I had of I would not had chosen them I was one day late and they send you a letter of disconnection notice charges you 20.00 for that and then chargers you late fee on top of that because I had missed the cut off I got charge $ 33.43 on top of my bill for being one day late I so glad that my contact is up with them this next month. The renewal is double to what I was paying so BYE BYE FRONTIER

J.MORTON
August 16th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just Energy


Fixed rate electricity and natural gas plans

View Rates  
Example Bill
loading...