190 Reviews and 99 Replies for Frontier Utilities

Frontier Utilities Logo
URC#:

Category Average Rating
Pricing and Plans 1.85
Order Experience 2.04
Customer Service 1.67
Billing Quality 1.58
Likely to recommend? 1.42

Indiana Energy Ratings Score:

( 3.4 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low



This graph ranks Price, Plans, Promotion, Order Experience, Customer Service, Billing, Account Management, Likelihood to recommend and Overall score of Frontier Utilities
Frontier Utilities was founded in 2008 by two pioneers of the Australian and New Zealand retail electricity markets. In February of 2012, they were sold to a group of Texas based investors. The currently serve retail and commercial customers in both Texas and New York.

Frontier Utilities slam

(1 / 5)

  Be very careful what you click on. The TexasElectricityRatings submit button does not allow a comparison of plans but is a "submit" to order a plan or make a contract. I clicked on a Frontier plan and this resulted in an order for service. I called Frontier immediately (2 minutes) and their rep told me "no problem" that the order had not "gone to market" and could be cancelled. This turned out not to be the case. I was also labeled as a "move-in" not as a change of service. This allowed Frontier to "sign me up" with no grace period - in other words even a cancellation after 5 minutes would be charged a $150 cancellation fee. As a final straw the plan had a displayed cost of 6.2 cents per KWH whereas the real cost was closer to 14 cents per KWH

DrClark
June 23rd, 2020

Dr. Clark, we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer, and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve and assist. Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further? Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you

Frontier Utilities Responds June 24th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

OK First Year -- But renewal plans were limited to higher priced plans.

(1.8 / 5)

  I didn't want to, but I will change providers after my first year with Frontier to get a decent rate. Apparently loyal customers are only wanted if you want to accept one of their higher priced plans after the first contract expires. I diligently searched on-line and found a plan from Frontier that was a bit higher (but not too much) than some others that I had found, so my first inclination was to stay with Frontier since I hadn't had any bad experiences with them. I still haven't. Unfortunately, since Frontier will not allow me to select the plan that is best for my circumstances, I have now decided it is in my best interest to change providers. I have a medium sized home and most of my usage is below 1000 KWh except in the summer months, so I want a plan with a low fixed KWh rate and without the "so called credit" when usage is above the 1000 KWh mark where nearly all utilities have plans to sucker the unsuspecting with a low rate displayed in the 1000 KWh field in the Electricity Facts Label (EFL). The bottom line is, I will be changing providers mainly because they will not allow me to pick from some of their other plans that are available on the web that are competitive with other companies.

Tim Cox
June 2nd, 2020

Tim Cox, we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer, and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve and assist. Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further? Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you

Frontier Utilities Responds June 5th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Crooked business

(1.4 / 5)

  They loose your cancellation notice and pile on fee after fee after fee. If you attempt to call to resolve the issue, they will disconnect your call continuously or lie about calling you back after am investigation. You will never receive a call back. They also like to send out billing notices after the last day to pay without penalty yo ensure they connect late fees. Very crooked business practices and extremely poor customer service.

We will call you back
May 22nd, 2020

We understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer, and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve and assist. Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further? Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you

Frontier Utilities Responds May 29th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Frontier utility

(1.6 / 5)

  Extremely dishonest for 1 year my utility Bill was the same down yo the penny 149.62 even when utilities were turned off for vacation,.

Comparison pricing
May 8th, 2020

Thank you for your feedback.
I am truly sorry you are not happy with our services. We would like to discuss this matter with you and see how we can help, please call our customer care department at 1-866-925-8192. We are open today till 6pm.
Thank you,
Frontier Utilities

Frontier Utilities Responds May 11th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Shop around and Read Reviews

(1.8 / 5)

  I use this electricity company(pre paid)when I'm working on my rental homes. I thought since that went well I would get a month to month for another small house on my property. My bill was $13-$15 BUT if I paid **1 DAY** late I got a disconnect payment of $20 EVEN if on the billing statement it says 5.0% after due date. Please be careful with this company do your research and shop around. I'm happy that I have Reliant Energy for my own house.

Unsatisfied Customer
May 5th, 2020

Thank you for your feed back.

I am sorry you where not happy with our services. I will share this feed back with my team. If you would like to discuss more regarding the fee you can contact our customer service department at 1-866-926-8192.

Thanks,
Frontier Utilities.

Frontier Utilities Responds May 5th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Price gouging company

(2.2 / 5)

  Just before contract expires make sure to renew with them or another company as Frontier will price gouge you with an astonishing rate per kilowatt that youve never seen before. Once they know you have switched beware, no loyalty!

Mark M
April 17th, 2020

Good Afternoon Mark M,
Thank you for the feedback. We strive to provide competitive rates for you when it comes time to renew. If you can please send an email to care@frontierutilities.com and provide me with your account number, I can have an agent go over our rates we have to offer in your area. There maybe something else we can offer you that may be lower then what you are currently paying now. Thanks.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 20th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They are deceiving, stay away

(1 / 5)

  Their agent promised me that, I will pay less than usual unless the usage is high. But, usage is less, bill is 50% more than previous bill. They are lying and cheating. Stay away from Frontier Utilities

Y.E.
April 1st, 2020

Thank you for providing your feedback and letting us know about this issue. We set a high standard for ourselves and are truly sorry to hear that standard was not met in your interaction with us. Please get in touch with us on (866) 926-8192 and we'd be happy to help you out.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 6th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They are professional deceivers

(1 / 5)

  Agent of Frontier Utilities came my home and explained advantages of their company. Several times I asked her if there will be any hidden fees or not. She assured me that I will not see higher bill than I had before if the usage is not higher. I got my first bill from them, usage was less, but the bill is 50% more. And now they say that, it will take 2-3 bills for me to go back to Columbia Gas. This is trick. That's why stay away from them. If you see their agent before your door, do not trust their any words or promises. This is my live experience, unfortunately.

YASHAR EHTIBARLI
April 1st, 2020

Thank you for providing your feedback and letting us know about this issue. We set a high standard for ourselves and are truly sorry to hear that standard was not met in your interaction with us. Please get in touch with us on (866) 926-8192 and we'd be happy to help you out.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 6th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Intentionally Deceptive Rate Advertising

(1.2 / 5)

  I recently signed up for the Frontier Utilities Easy Bill 12 plan, which advertises that below 1000 kWh there is a flat rate of $75 and at 1000 it is 7.4 cents/kWh. Be aware that at 1001 kWh the rate goes up to 19.9 cents/kWh. This can be seen on the Facts Label but is intentionally placed so that it is easy to miss, which I did. I called to ask about switching to a different plan to avoid the cancellation fee but the man I talked to, though he was nice enough, was only able to offer 1 other very high rate plan.

Tara W.
April 1st, 2020

Thank you for providing your feedback and letting us know about this issue. We set a high standard for ourselves and are truly sorry to hear that standard was not met in your interaction with us. Please get in touch with us on (866) 926-8192 and we'd be happy to help you out.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 6th, 2020

As an update I did call the customer service # back and spoke to another representative after receiving my bill for the full early termination fee. This man listened to my concern, put me on hold for a couple of minutes, then came back letting me know he had tried to "twist someone's arm" to help me but that I still had to pay. I told him I was aware of the fact that it was in the contract but that I hoped someone would be willing to understand why I was not happy about the way the rate was advertised. I asked to speak with a supervisor, was put on hold for about 10 min, then was asked if I could get a call back right after the supervisor got off the phone. I never received a call back.

Tara W. Replies April 13th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Friends & Family 12 Green

(1.6 / 5)

  The worst experience I have ever had trying to purchase or sign up for anything. I was trying to switch from my current electricity provider to Frontier through centerpoint truecost but to my bewilderment, I received an e-mail that a deposit of $400 was required before they could sign me up. The e-mail went on to say that the decision was based on my credit risk which they indicated to be zero. I thought a risk of zero means no risk at all but they went on to write that their score was derived from Experian credit risk score that goes from a range of 1-999. See below.
"Thank you for your recent application with Frontier Utilities. We would like to take the opportunity to explain why a security deposit was required to establish service. Your application was processed by a scoring system that assigns numerical values to the various items of information considered by Frontier Utilities in evaluating an application. These values are based upon an analysis of a large number of customers and their historical information. The information you provided in your application did not score a sufficient number of points for approval without a security deposit. The decision was based on the following reasons:
Your Tele-Riskscore: 0
Date: 03/26/2020
Scores range from a low of 1 to a high of 999.
Score Reason(s): Insufficient credit history."
I don't understand how someone with a FICO score of 848 out of 850 from Experian could have insufficient credit history. I signed up with a different company instantly without a deposit.

RC
March 31st, 2020

Thank you for bring this to our attention RC.
If at anytime we get a notification of 0 credit there will always be a required deposit. It could simply mean your SSN may have a freeze and where we are unable to receive any type of credit. If this to be true you can always call and have the credit freeze removed for the time being and allow us to re-run your credit. This normal fixes the problem and our customers are able to pass with no deposit required. We hope this information helps. You can reach any of our knowledgeable sales team members Monday through Friday between 7am to 6pm.
Thank You,
Frontier Utilities.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 1st, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unfavorable

(1.6 / 5)

  Short and fair: Beware of Frontier's handling of its online account signup promotions. If you use a date-valid promotion code, the application will go through while ignoring the code WITHOUT ANY WARNING. When you follow up, you'll spend hours on multiple calls - local & international - and you'll hear as many contradictory explanations to deny you the promotion as there are Frontier agents. It's a classic example of "how to lose customers' loyalty on day 1 of the relationship". In fairness, there is no cancellation fee, if you decide to keep looking without waiting for the end of the term. Regrettable.

Disappointed newcomer
March 27th, 2020

Thank you for reaching out to us Disappointed Newcomer.
We understand the frustration of being mislead by promotions. Some people go on websites and create promo codes that are not promos of Frontier Utilities. We have no control of this and we cannot monitor every discount website that allows them to create these. Once we are notified we track down the code and demand for the website to remove them, however they're just to many. We do honor our promo codes that are our official website. I hope this helps. If you have any more questions you can call our excellent customer care team Monday through Friday from 7am to 6pm.
Thank you,
Frontier Utilities.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 1st, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Big promises only big let downs

(1 / 5)

  Promised us big savings. Made mediocre attempts. When the covid-19 pandemic hit they bailed like the punks they truly are. Don't fall for their bs. Stick with your primary provider.

J hall
March 24th, 2020

Thank you for bring this to our attention J Hall.
This Covid-19 is a serious ordeal and we are doing everything we can to help all of our customers. In Ohio there are programs you can reach out too that are helping our customers with paying their bills due to this crisis. You can always call whom ever it is that you pay your bill too and asked what are the best programs they have. I hope this helps. If you still have any more questions you can always call our customer care department Monday through Friday from 7am to 6pm.
Thank you,
Frontier Utilities.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 1st, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not Willing to Work with Their Customers

(1 / 5)

  Used this company on a 12 month contract for about $150/month for about 2000 kWh/month which wasn't too bad. When the contract was ending, there was no letter or email sent to notify me. The 13th month went to their highest rate and my bill was over $325! I called customer service and they offered me $50 off that bill if I would sign another contract with them. I found a better rate with another company the following day.

When using their service, I had tried to have their service started at other properties that I manage. Service was promised but not connected. I contacted customer service to find out what the problem was. Someone had decided that a deposit was needed on each account when I was previously told that it wouldn't be necessary.

DON"T USE THIS COMPANY!!!

Mike Sims
March 7th, 2020

Mike Sims we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer, and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve. Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further? Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you

Frontier Utilities Responds March 9th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sorry I ever signed up

(1 / 5)

  First of all I was a bit put off by a person coming to the door to sign us up. I should've politely refused but He talked a good game and my husband and I decided to join. Months later I get a letter that my service is being returned to my electric company for an outstanding supplier charge. I have been waiting on hold for quite some time to get an explanation. When I first called, the auto service asked for my account number and told me that it didn't exist. Then customer service rep asked for multiple items when to me the account number should have sufficed. All this seemed to do was add to my bill and I have seen NO benefit or savings. One thing for sure, I will never use anything beyond my local company again!

JB
March 4th, 2020

JB we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer, and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve. Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further? Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you

Frontier Utilities Responds March 9th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont ever be 1 day past due date!

(1.4 / 5)

  Forgot to pay bill by one day and I got a disconnection notice. Then when I got my next months bill I got charged a late fee plus a $20.00 fee for the disconnection notice. My payment was one day late! Run the other way dont use Frontier!

Unhappy customer!
February 18th, 2020

Thank you for your feedback. We do charge a $20.00 fee for sending a disconnection notice you invoice is past due. We do have ways to help avoid this charge. You can call our customer service department at 1-866-926-8192 Monday through Friday from 7am to 6pm to discuss ways to help. Thanks.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 14th, 2020

You send out disconnection notices one day late! All Frontier is doing is ripping their customers off. They know you are stuck because you are under a contract and have to pay huge termination fees to go somewhere else. DONT USE FRONTIER!

Unhappy customer! Replies April 14th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Review

(5 / 5)

  Good. Hope it stays that way.

Frances Davis
February 14th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My bill is outrageous. 92 added on for oncor. Stupid

(1.2 / 5)

  Don't understand and no one will talk to me

Jesse Sheffield
February 8th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Price gouging

(1 / 5)

  Frontier Utilities is corrupt feeling with showing low rates but charging extrealy high rates and customer service designed to frustrate customers rather than providing people who can actually help.

Frustraded
February 4th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Door to door scam artists!

(1 / 5)

  A salesman pretending to be a utility worker came to my door in a flurry saying that there was an issue with my gas and electric. After an hour of him standing in my kitchen, he talked me into joining Frontier. I called and asked my current electric company if Frontier was legit. The rep said technically yes. It is possible for them to offer you a cheaper rate. She said the current company I was with charged at 5.4 cents per KHW. The salesman claimed around 2cents per KHW and promised that my monthly bill would now be half the amount. Same with my gas company. Of course that sounded great. He also said that I was due $100 refunds from my electric and gas companies. Also a bonus. Ive been a little iffy about what I signed up for. I received 2 letters in the mail today both from Frontier, 1 for my electric and 1 for my gas. The cost per KHW was twice the amount of my original carriers!!! The contract wasnt void until my carriers made the official switch which thankfully hadnt happened yet so I was able to cancel the contract otherwise I would have been locked into Frontiers insane prices for a year. And of course the refunds were a scam. Everything I was told was a lie. Dont let them cheat you!!!

Leigh
February 3rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great for first time customers

(3.6 / 5)

  The No Hidden Fees plan I chose was great value this year. The renewal plans they offered me when it expired are not so great.

Mitch
January 20th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions