Ambit Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Ambit Energy are the order experience, rated at 1.9 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 1.8 of 5.

Ambit Energy Rating

Indiana Energy Ratings Score:


( 2.6 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

329 Reviews and Replies for Ambit Energy


Horrible Experience

(1 / 5)

  Called about my high electric bills. Talked about a new plan. they can quote me .105 cents per kwh if I use exactly 1,000 kwh. If I use 1,001 or more, it is variable. In order to know how much your bill will be, you have to use exactly 1,000 kwh. Went back to TXU!!! I will never leave them again. Worst electrical company ever!!!!!!

DisapointedCustomer
December 30th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Experience

(1 / 5)

  Called about my high electric bills. Talked about a new plan. they can quote me .105 cents per kwh if I use exactly 1,000 kwh. If I use 1,001 or more, it is variable. In order to know how much your bill will be, you have to use exactly 1,000 kwh. Went back to TXU!!! I will never leave them again. Worst electrical company ever!!!!!!

DisapointedCustomer
December 30th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst electricity provider ever had

(1 / 5)

  Horrible!!! service cant wait to get out of the contract, two more months and that will be it, its been a real headache every month

Saavedra
December 28th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambit will do anything for money.

(1 / 5)

  My energy bill more than exploaded. It went up from 20-40$ a month to over 200. And stayed that way for months. I called and ask why and then gave me every excuse in the book to say it was my fault. After 4 months of this I finally convinced them to check my meter and it came back with an error. They promised redo the billing and look into it. They never did. When I called them to inquire why I'm still being price gouged, the entire process started over from scratch. Me fighting to get them to look at the meter and fix it. Them justifying the price etc. Then comes to now, after months of automatic billing, I came home and my power is out. I call and the automated response tells me it hadn't been payed. Their offices are closed. I payed the bill, and the 20 dollar disconnect + 40 dollar reconnect fee, to have the machine tell me it will be 48 hours till they turn it back on. Btw there were no notifications in my email or notifications by phone or mail that it hadn't been payed, and was being shut off. Or I would NOT have let that happen. I still have usage reminders in my email and physical mailbox, but they made zero attempts to reach out to me. It makes me think they took my card off file and left me hanging to get a free fee out of me. 100% do not reccomend.

Chris
December 27th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Automated confirmation system

(1.4 / 5)

  I've been trying to verify my account for 2 days back and forth between customer service and automated confirmation always says my DOB Iis wrong getting tired of the bull never had to work so hard to switch shouldn't have to be on phone for 3 hours doing this

Chris Ritenour
December 19th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Happy camper with ambit energy

(5 / 5)

  I was very happy camper with ambit .... love saving plan and it gives you option to earn free eletricity and gas service... we have ambit and love it .

Candi
December 4th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BS

(1 / 5)

  1 bedroom apt paid between $300-$400 a month in the summer and $150 in the winter. No one should pay that much especially when we just turn off air conditioning.

Holly
December 2nd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

outrageous rate change!

(1.6 / 5)

  they charged me 77 cents/kwh , over a thousand $ and wanted to cut me off.
I was with them for 6yrs.
They made a mistake with their plans and Dumped it on the customers.

John H
November 30th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst energy company I had used. Glad my contract is ending.

(1.2 / 5)

  I thought TXU was expensive!!!!!!! Bill tripled even though using the same amount of energy every month. Called customer service to inquire about charges. Only answer was because of the heat in July and August, was why rates increased, after being on hold for 45 minutes to speak to someone, guessing alot of consumers were on line complaining (They even had to nerve to send a letter before my bill showed that the rates would be a little higher because of the heat. Expected a little increase, not a car note increase. Smh.) Agent even tried to get me sign up for new service because I was near the end of my contract. Told the Agent the bill was more than my car note, inurance, and student loan payment all together, not renewing. Consumers beware.

Ron
November 9th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad billing practices

(1 / 5)

  We don't even own the house and haven't for over 2 months now but they are still trying to bill us for the past 2 months! We paid our finale bill online and got a ZERO balance with a letter of credit from ambit. I just called them and they are saying they misread the meter and need to fix the bill. DO NOT USE AMBIT!!!

Curtis
November 8th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Outrageously Priced

(1 / 5)

  I was charged way too much with Ambit. Whenever I cancelled they kicked me out of their app. I wasnt able to see specifically what I was charged for. Whenever I call customer service I am on the phone for 20+ minutes.

Melissa Amon
October 17th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The customer service is sub-par

(1.6 / 5)

  But the company itself don't give 2 dumps. They give me a notice saying the cut off is a few days after but in their system says 1 day. My check cleared this morning, went to pay but it was already cut off. The woman over the phone I'll give credit bc she tried to help, but when i asked her (at noon) when I'll get the power back on, she said this afternoon. It is now 20:32 (8:32 12hr) and no power. Supposed to be low 40s tonight. And i have work but no alarm clock to work with. Stay warm tonight for me y'all.

TySpades Art and Photography
October 16th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The wrost company ever

(1 / 5)

  They have been charging us normal rate for 8 months around 200 to 300 per month and this month the bill is 5 times more to 1334 usd

The wrost company
September 25th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambit Energy is the WORST - Count me in for a Class Action Lawsuit

(1 / 5)

  Could not take it anymore. Ambit Energy is charging $10 for cancelation notices even if the bill is paid on the due date. Ambit Energy is charging $2.50 electronic processing fee when you pay your bill if a debit or credit card is used. But they are also adding a miscellaneous charge of $2.50 for an electronic processing fee to the next bill.
A Class Action Lawsuit is the way to stop Ambit Energy!!!
BTW !! I RATE Ambit Energy: THE WORST (0 STARS)

Ruben Arnedo
September 23rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay Far FAR away... The reviews are REAL

(1 / 5)

  Been an ambit customer for oh.... 7+ years, give or take. To their credit, the first several years went without a hitch. Then one day, I started to notice these... mysterious fees, in small increments $10, 20, 30, 40. So naturally I dialed in each time, asking what is the issue, etc., And their response was because Texas' weather was so unpredictable (No... really?) these 'costs' were way to make up the differences. Fair enough, I thought. No big issue here, I said. This is what I get for living in Texas for nearly 20+ years, right? Stayed in a small, 2-bed apartment and the range was fairly decent ranging from $80-100 (100 was a rarity), so I counted my blessings and kept chugging along.

Then I get hit with a whopping $320 bill.

Flabbergasted, I called in. Get placed on hold for 30 minutes-- at the end there was nothing they could do for me. So even though I only ended up using 80 kWh more, I was expected to pay $200 more because they changed my rate from 3.7 to 29.2. No notice whatsoever. Apparently I didn't read the contract well enough that my rates were subject to change. Apparently they had sent several messages/emails/letters stating this change-- No they didn't. When I confronted the CSR agent, she offered me a 10% discounted credit. Uh... no.

Another thing that grated my nerves... she said that other people were paying a lot more than my measly $320. My response? So? What does that have to do with my situation, my budget, my cost of living? Sure, $320 may not be a lot for some, but if I had money, would I be calling in to complain? I also got chastised for venting too much (she gave me plenty of time to 'vent' she says). WOW.

All those years ruined by one phone call. There is no guarantee that my rates won't go up next month. So should I prepare to pay $80 or $320? You decide!!

There are better companies out there. DO NOT CHOOSE THIS ONE.

PLEASE DO NOT CHOOSE AMBIT.

1/5
September 23rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambit Energy Sucks Bait and Switch Company

(1 / 5)

  I was quoted by a friend a supposedly abetter deal than Stream Energy. I was with Stream over 4 years and never got a bill like this. I will be contacting the P.U.C, BBB and my lawyer. This is a freaking bait and switch. My very first bill was $778. When I looked up Ambit on the BBB their rating is a BIG FAT F.

Llewellyn
September 21st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambit Raping their Customers with wholesale plan

(1 / 5)

  My bill more than doubled in August
Avoid the wholesale plan at all costs their sales reps are pushing it like crazy and youll be grabbing your ankles like I am

Susan
September 20th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay away from this company

(1 / 5)

  I would rate them zero if I could. No online chat and no emails! my last bill was for 29 days and my usage was 534 kWh and my bill was $160.40!!!!
I have been trying to call the company every day for a week and no one responded to my call even though I was on the line for 2 hours!!!! By enrolling in the auto payment you basically allowing them to rob your bank account.

Arjang
September 18th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worse company ever.

(1 / 5)

  They keep raising prices and their customer service is the worst. On hold for hours!

Sterling diggs
September 17th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible company with no loyalty

(1 / 5)

  I was with ambit over 7 years and just couldnt take anymore. Then give cut off notice the day after its due and even tho u may pay it the very next day because their computer automatically sends disconnect out u still have a 10$ late fee. Theres no incintives anymore didnt even get to use the points that kept me there so long plus the base charges and rates keep going up. Another scam they have is when u pay the bill they charge you right then 2.50 to pay with a card debit credit etc. for electronic processing fee they say then they re charge u on your bill I get miscellaneous for the same $2.50 electronic processing fee. Cant wait until that is on the class action and will be getting so much money reimbursed. Their no hidden taxes and fees is a joke their taxes and fees is what gets it sky high. Now their customer service..: uniformed..: thank goodness I finally left and even tho my contract was up I just got a bill for 201$ for 5 days it said . Negative 1 should have been an option with them and to think I use to pay them to be a representative independent consultant for them. What a joke

Asia McGee
August 7th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price




Example Bill
loading...