Home > Rate And Review > Ambit Energy

Ambit Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Ambit Energy are their plans and pricing, rated at 4.0 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 4.0 of 5.

Ambit Energy Rating

Indiana Energy Ratings Score:


( 2.6 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

304 Reviews and Replies for Ambit Energy


do not get energy with them ambit energy

(1 / 5)

  i have been on 1 year contract with them and bill is at almost 300 when i dont use energy til after 6pm to 11 tells me the times we waste more energy are from 5 am to 12 pm no one is home at that time and everything is off and from 9 pm to 5 am everyone is asleep jus use one night light for my kids room and for them thats when i mostly use energy really?? i asked if they could come check there meter because i feel im being over charged and they wanted to charge me 30$ for coming to check something that its theirs why would i wanna pay more money after i have 300 light bills for a 1400 sqft home with no one during the day 4 people living here

Ambit energy
March 13th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cheaper than competitors and $0.00 cancellation fee since I'm in Illinois

(5 / 5)

  After comparing different companies, I decided to go with Ambit. Not only because they had the best rates, but they didn't charge a service fee (like Spark) or a $50.00 cancellation fee like Constellation. Hands down, they are the best.

What I found odd was, that many companies (including electricityrate. com, and ilenergratings. com), claim they provide us with the cheapest rates, but neither of these companies provided me with Ambit's rates. Why, when Ambit is cheaper than all the other companies they listed??? I have yet to get a response from either company on why they are misleading customers by being deceitful.

Tired of all the games
February 28th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Who wrote most of these reviews???

(5 / 5)

  I am a Ambit customer in Illinois. I seen some of the reviews and wonder where in the world did this happen??? There is no contact, no fees, and you can opt out any time you feel you are not being treated right. I know Big Oil companies hire people to write bad and false reviews then tell you a "better" company to turn to. I am very happy saving 15 to 30% on my bill. Savings depends on time of year.

Lee
February 24th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

exelet...................

(5 / 5)

  Fantastic Eletric Company.....................

Andres
January 20th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

MISLEADING

(2.4 / 5)

  i HAVE BEEN AN AMBIT ENERGY CUSTOMER FOR YEARS AND FOR THE MOST PART THEY DO TRY TO WORK WITH YOU ( OF COURSE AT A PRICE) . RECENTLY THEY CAME UP WITH A NEW PLAN FOR FREE NIGHTS AND SOLAR DAYS. THEY ADVERTISE AN AVERAGE OF 12 CENTS PER KWH WHEN IN TRUTH IT IS 16 CENTS AND THERE IS STILL THAT PESKY ONCOR CHARGE WHICH GETS BIGGER THE MORE YOU USE ELECTRICITY. I CAN NOT UNDERSTAND WHY THEY ARE SO DECEPTIVE WITH THEIR PRICING AND HARD TO READ GRAPHS OF ENERGY USAGE, ESPECIALLY IF YOU HAVE A PLAN LIKE THAT IT SHOULD BE EASY TO READ TO COMPARE SAVINGS SO YOU CAN CHOOSE HONESTLY AND WISELY. ONCE THEY HOOK YOU THOUGH YOU ARE RAKED OVER THE COALS AND CAN NOT OPT OUT WITHOUT A HUGE PENALTY SO I ADVISE ANYONE LOOKING TO CONSIDER EVERY OPTION INCLUDING THE PROVIDER.

ROY
October 31st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Switched because of fees

(1.8 / 5)

  I moved apartments and set up with ambit at my new apartment. I was told my recurring payments were going to continue but they didnt and after no bill pay they shut my power off. Not a big deal, but when I went to have it turned back on they charge: $40 reconnect fee, $20 disconnect fee, and made me add a $125 deposit. I explained the situation and that I had never missed a payment and it was a mistake but that meant nothing and they still demanded payment of all. I threatened to switch service and they just warned there would be $199 early termination fee to which I agreed and paid because I refuse to give a company like that my business. Highly recommend green mountain.

Tanner
October 30th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Late fees and delivery charges

(2.6 / 5)

  I do not appreciate getting a late fee for being less than 24 hours late on paying bill. $10.00 is robbery when you are paying basically on time. I also have noticed lately that whatever my light usage is I am paying half that amount in delivery charges... so for a $60.00 usage add $27.00 in delivery fee then and taxes....it is ridiculous....

Rosemarie S.
October 30th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I thought I was making a smart decision...

(1.6 / 5)

  When I switched to ambit I thought I was making a smart decision. I was with TXU for years prior and was convinced of Ambit's cheaper rates. Upon doing my research, Ambit wasn't cheaper than TXU, but I decided to go with the free nights plan. It turned out to be a horrible mistake. My bill ended up being much higher than TXU. Calling customer service isn't easy, it takes at least an hour to get to somebody. And my password never worked, no matter how many times I changed it.

Sonya
October 23rd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Contact?

(1.8 / 5)

  Tried for two days to contact Ambit about renewing my service. Chat room and scheduled call back just plain don't work.

Connecticut User
October 19th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They say they offer A/C heat sheild coverage but I havent gotten it after 4 mos or more

(1.6 / 5)

  They need to get rid of this coverage and stop advertising for this because they cant enroll you. CS has no answers. This is bad CS

Nikki Wallace
July 2nd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont get fooled by initial offer and huge hidden charges are there

(1.4 / 5)

  Dont get fooled by low electricity bill. They have something called avg usage bill from previous year and that make you feel you are getting less electricity bill but at the end of the service they will send you huge adjustment bill. They keep you in dark about this until you disconnect the service. So unfair and wrong business practice. I would not recommend Ambit Energy to anyone.

Pandurang Yachwad
June 26th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

What they do is legal...but it is deceptive...

(1.6 / 5)

  Ambit requires 1 year contracts, at least they did for residents of my community. I pay my bills online, but Ambit's website is down regularly after 10pm or so....maybe earlier, but that is when I finish my day and sit down and work on bills and stuff. This led to late payments, waiting for the next time the site was up. So I set up auto pay, but then my bill goes up. And then a payment fails, but I am not notified until my service is cut. Sometimes I work from home, so this is not acceptable. I am planning to move, but now that they have required a deposit, and for me to re-start a 1 year contact because of the shut off, I will lose the deposit when I move. All of this is legal. You can get bills and notices mailed, but they won't get to you in time, so paying online is still better. But keep an eye on the rate and rate changes and don't set up autopay. Better yet...don't waste your time and money on this outfit. Look at their reviews. They are profitable because of with held deposits, fees, and energy rates that change or are to their best interest, not yours.

BlueCat
June 24th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just dont. STAY AWAY! Two bedroom apartment, $500 a month

(1.2 / 5)

  I was on a month to month plan with them. Paid more than $800 for two months, for the months of December and January. Switched to a contract with another company, less than $30 a month. Their excuse? Prices fluctuate!

Dont ambit
June 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor service

(1 / 5)

  I was with Ambit for over 5 years and never was I ever late. Paid my bill online and one day loan behold my electricity was shut off. No notice whatsoever, said I failed to pay the current bill. No curtsy call checking to see what might have happened. It cost me 125.00 deposit plus like a $140. to get it turned back on. No grace what so ever. My contact expires his month and will not be renewing it. They better return my deposit. This is how they make interest money on your deposit.

Beverly Hagen
June 19th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Shady billing practices

(1.4 / 5)

  When my contract expired I was expecting an increase, I was not expecting my bill to double. When I got that bill I thought it was a mistake, nope, customer service said since Im out of contract they can charge whatever they want. So I changed service and now I get the bill for the last six days from Ambit and they want more than I was paying a month, no justification, just bill you whatever they want to punish you for switching service.

Aaron
June 18th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billed without being notified

(1.4 / 5)

  There was a bill posted to my account without me being notified of it. Therefore I had to pay my bill late and when I spoke with coustomer service about the issue they did not help or give any reason as to why I was not notified. I will not be using ambit energy in the future.

I was billed additional cost without being notified
May 10th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Experience Ever

(1 / 5)

  Ambit took money off my card for a deposit before they knew if they could even provide me service. After figuring out they would not be able to provide the service I was told a refund would be issued. It took them less than five minutes to take the $80 off my card but for some reason the refund had to be sent back as a check, it has been a month since the day they claimed to have sent my check out in the mail. Customer service is a joke as well as the supervisors. I would not recommend Ambit to anyone ever. They are by far the most unorganized unprofessional energy company I have ever dealt with.

Ambit Energy
April 25th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

RIP OFF

(1 / 5)

  This is one of the biggest rip-off companies I've ever dealt with. They bill you starting the day you do not pay $10 for a disconnect notice which cost them just a few pennies to send. Then 14 days after you miss one payment you're disconnected they want a deposit and a big reconnection fee. They are just greedy. Most electric companies let you go a full and tire cycle and pay the next due date without any penalty at all which is what I'm used to. Not these scam artists. Oh and did I tell you that they cut my power off in the middle of an ice storm and refuse to turn it on until the next day. I thought there was something against the law that they could even do that at a time where you could freeze to death. I canceled my service will never go back with them. FYI I talked for an hour and 15 minutes to get my $10 fee removed today and it did work you just have to keep complaining and keep asking for somebody else. So do not believe them when they tell you they can't do it. They can you just have to make enough noise. Ambit, you should have listened to me earlier today now you're going to have to listen to everybody else just like me because now they know that they can get their money back if they make enough noise. The way to get their attention is to tell whoever is on the line I'm sorry you do not have the authority to do this but I know someone does so get me somebody with some Authority because apparently you just answer phone calls I need a person with a real job. I finally got someone with a real job and they gave me my $10 back to stop listening to me.

Never again
April 3rd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

A happy Ambit customer..

(5 / 5)

  This is 2018. I've had Ambit electric service since 2011. In all these years, I've never had a billing problem. Like the other companies, Ambit is a billing company. Oncor is the actual provider but I call Ambit if I have a problem. Lightening struck at my house about 4:30 A.M.in Feb, 2018. Among other damage, my transformer was blown so all electricity was out. I called Ambit. Within hours they had Oncor out here and before nightfall, the transformer was replaced. Before signing up with Ambit, I had tried two other electric companies. I had billing issues with both with errors on my account. Since joining Ambit in 2011, I have not had one billing error. I have to be conservative, but my electric bills have been something to brag about. Thus I'm happy with Ambit Service.

Ann
March 12th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

WORST ELECTRIC COMPANY EVER!!!!!!

(1 / 5)

  I HAVE BEEN A CUSTOMER FOR OVER A YEAR AND NEVER BEEN LATE ON PAYING A BILL IN FACT ALWAYS PAID EARLY THEN I GET A NOTICE THEY ARE STARTING TO CHARGE $10 FOR A DISCONNECT NOTICE IF YOU'RE EVEN A DAY LATE WITH A PAYMENT NOT A DAY LATE AFTER A GRACE PERIOD THEY WANNA SAY THEY HAVE A 5 DAY GRACE PERIOD WHICH IS FALSE THERE IS NO GRACE IF YOU STILL GET CHARGED A LATE FEE ON TOP OF THE DISCONNECT FEE WHICH THERE SHOULD NEVER BE A DISCONNECT NOTICE SENT IF YOU'RE GIVEN 5 DAYS GRACE PERIOD BUT A DAY AFTER BILL DUE DATE YOU GET A NOTICE REALLY? EVERY ELECTRIC COMPANY I'VE EVER KNOWN HAS NEVER DONE BUSINESS AS BAD AS AMBIT THEY ARE A RIP OFF AND I AM IMMEDIATELY LOOKING FOR SERVICE ELSEWHERE ESPECIALLY SINCE I'VE READ THAT OTHERS HAVE HAD THEIR SERVICE CUT OFF FOR BEING 1 DAY LATE THAT SHOULD BE ILLEGAL I DON'T SEE THIS COMPANY BEING IN BUSINESS MUCH LONGER THAN ANOTHER YEAR I CALLED CUSTOMER SERVICE TO SEE IF I CAN CHANGE MY DUE DATE ACCORDING TO MY PAY PERIOD WHICH THEY HAVE DONE BEFORE I WAS TOLD NO I WOULD NEED TO GET AN EXTENSION THEN TO GET AN EXTENSION I'D HAVE TO PAY PART OF IT UMMMM WHAT'S THE SINCE IN GETTING AN EXTENSION TO PAY LATER IF I GOT TO PAY IN ORDER TO GET AN EXTENSION I THINK THE CEO, THE OWNER OF THIS COMPANY ARE MONEY HUNGRY AND ARE DOWN RIGHT EVIL CAN'T WAIT TO GET SERVICE ELSEWHERE SO I CAN CALL AMBIT BACK TO TELL THEM TO KISS MY A**!

RACHELLE
March 1st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price

Example Bill
loading...