Ambit Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Ambit Energy are the order experience, rated at 1.9 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 1.7 of 5.

Ambit Energy Rating

Indiana Energy Ratings Score:


( 2.6 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

320 Reviews and Replies for Ambit Energy


Worst energy company I had used. Glad my contract is ending.

(1.2 / 5)

  I thought TXU was expensive!!!!!!! Bill tripled even though using the same amount of energy every month. Called customer service to inquire about charges. Only answer was because of the heat in July and August, was why rates increased, after being on hold for 45 minutes to speak to someone, guessing alot of consumers were on line complaining (They even had to nerve to send a letter before my bill showed that the rates would be a little higher because of the heat. Expected a little increase, not a car note increase. Smh.) Agent even tried to get me sign up for new service because I was near the end of my contract. Told the Agent the bill was more than my car note, inurance, and student loan payment all together, not renewing. Consumers beware.

Ron
November 9th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad billing practices

(1 / 5)

  We don't even own the house and haven't for over 2 months now but they are still trying to bill us for the past 2 months! We paid our finale bill online and got a ZERO balance with a letter of credit from ambit. I just called them and they are saying they misread the meter and need to fix the bill. DO NOT USE AMBIT!!!

Curtis
November 8th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Outrageously Priced

(1 / 5)

  I was charged way too much with Ambit. Whenever I cancelled they kicked me out of their app. I wasnt able to see specifically what I was charged for. Whenever I call customer service I am on the phone for 20+ minutes.

Melissa Amon
October 17th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The wrost company ever

(1 / 5)

  They have been charging us normal rate for 8 months around 200 to 300 per month and this month the bill is 5 times more to 1334 usd

The wrost company
September 25th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambit Energy is the WORST - Count me in for a Class Action Lawsuit

(1 / 5)

  Could not take it anymore. Ambit Energy is charging $10 for cancelation notices even if the bill is paid on the due date. Ambit Energy is charging $2.50 electronic processing fee when you pay your bill if a debit or credit card is used. But they are also adding a miscellaneous charge of $2.50 for an electronic processing fee to the next bill.
A Class Action Lawsuit is the way to stop Ambit Energy!!!
BTW !! I RATE Ambit Energy: THE WORST (0 STARS)

Ruben Arnedo
September 23rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay Far FAR away... The reviews are REAL

(1 / 5)

  Been an ambit customer for oh.... 7+ years, give or take. To their credit, the first several years went without a hitch. Then one day, I started to notice these... mysterious fees, in small increments $10, 20, 30, 40. So naturally I dialed in each time, asking what is the issue, etc., And their response was because Texas' weather was so unpredictable (No... really?) these 'costs' were way to make up the differences. Fair enough, I thought. No big issue here, I said. This is what I get for living in Texas for nearly 20+ years, right? Stayed in a small, 2-bed apartment and the range was fairly decent ranging from $80-100 (100 was a rarity), so I counted my blessings and kept chugging along.

Then I get hit with a whopping $320 bill.

Flabbergasted, I called in. Get placed on hold for 30 minutes-- at the end there was nothing they could do for me. So even though I only ended up using 80 kWh more, I was expected to pay $200 more because they changed my rate from 3.7 to 29.2. No notice whatsoever. Apparently I didn't read the contract well enough that my rates were subject to change. Apparently they had sent several messages/emails/letters stating this change-- No they didn't. When I confronted the CSR agent, she offered me a 10% discounted credit. Uh... no.

Another thing that grated my nerves... she said that other people were paying a lot more than my measly $320. My response? So? What does that have to do with my situation, my budget, my cost of living? Sure, $320 may not be a lot for some, but if I had money, would I be calling in to complain? I also got chastised for venting too much (she gave me plenty of time to 'vent' she says). WOW.

All those years ruined by one phone call. There is no guarantee that my rates won't go up next month. So should I prepare to pay $80 or $320? You decide!!

There are better companies out there. DO NOT CHOOSE THIS ONE.

PLEASE DO NOT CHOOSE AMBIT.

1/5
September 23rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambit Energy Sucks Bait and Switch Company

(1 / 5)

  I was quoted by a friend a supposedly abetter deal than Stream Energy. I was with Stream over 4 years and never got a bill like this. I will be contacting the P.U.C, BBB and my lawyer. This is a freaking bait and switch. My very first bill was $778. When I looked up Ambit on the BBB their rating is a BIG FAT F.

Llewellyn
September 21st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambit Raping their Customers with wholesale plan

(1 / 5)

  My bill more than doubled in August
Avoid the wholesale plan at all costs their sales reps are pushing it like crazy and youll be grabbing your ankles like I am

Susan
September 20th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay away from this company

(1 / 5)

  I would rate them zero if I could. No online chat and no emails! my last bill was for 29 days and my usage was 534 kWh and my bill was $160.40!!!!
I have been trying to call the company every day for a week and no one responded to my call even though I was on the line for 2 hours!!!! By enrolling in the auto payment you basically allowing them to rob your bank account.

Arjang
September 18th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worse company ever.

(1 / 5)

  They keep raising prices and their customer service is the worst. On hold for hours!

Sterling diggs
September 17th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible company with no loyalty

(1 / 5)

  I was with ambit over 7 years and just couldnt take anymore. Then give cut off notice the day after its due and even tho u may pay it the very next day because their computer automatically sends disconnect out u still have a 10$ late fee. Theres no incintives anymore didnt even get to use the points that kept me there so long plus the base charges and rates keep going up. Another scam they have is when u pay the bill they charge you right then 2.50 to pay with a card debit credit etc. for electronic processing fee they say then they re charge u on your bill I get miscellaneous for the same $2.50 electronic processing fee. Cant wait until that is on the class action and will be getting so much money reimbursed. Their no hidden taxes and fees is a joke their taxes and fees is what gets it sky high. Now their customer service..: uniformed..: thank goodness I finally left and even tho my contract was up I just got a bill for 201$ for 5 days it said . Negative 1 should have been an option with them and to think I use to pay them to be a representative independent consultant for them. What a joke

Asia McGee
August 7th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

B.S Prices/Fees

(1 / 5)

  I have been an Ambit customer since 2012. THEY HAVE PROGRESSIVELY RAN UP THE CHARGES ON MY MONTHLY BILL!! I have a ONE BEDROOM 800 something sqaure foot apartment!! THERE IS NO WAY MY LIGHTBILL SHOULD BE $219.00!! The only person here during the day IS MY DOG!! So how TF my bill progressively goes from low hundreds to TWO HUNDRED DOLLARS IN A SPAN OF TWO MONTHS!!!?!?!?! I cannot wait until my contract term is up! I WILL DEFINITELY BE CANCELING THIS SH**** A** SERVICE!! And would have already done so if i wasnt in the process of buying a home and cant have anything put on my credit!! THIS COMPANY IS THE WORST I HAVE USED!!

B. Barriere
August 7th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambit Energy is the Worst Company EVER!!

(1.2 / 5)

  Three customer representatives kept me on long holds because they did not want to discuss my request for a refund. One customer representative refused to transfer me. Their fees are exuberant and their customer service is beyond poor.

Jon
August 5th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor customer service

(2.2 / 5)

  Been with ambit for over 5 years, i always pay my bill on time, today is 7/31/2019 and my bill is due on 8/16/2019, i made a payment today and forgot to adjust the payment date to 8/16/2019 so i went to their website and chatted with andrea,i asked to push my payment to the correct date,she refused,said i could call my bank and stop the payment but there will be a 25.00 returned fee charged,told her you haven't received the monies as yet,no dice,refuced to help so the impression ambit left on me is that they are hungry for your money and not flexible, but i have the power to choose and as soon as this contract is over i am switching.
Goodbye ambit you have lost 1 reliable customer for your stupid inflexibility.

A mohamed
July 31st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

A Conversation

(1.8 / 5)

  You are losing a customer today - because of your unwillingness to work with a person through a difficult situation - the only way through this will cost me money - I have worked for companies such as this and know the work around. It is sad that all you seem to care about is money and not the humans that make up your customer base. I will be posting this in as many places as I can find.

-------------------------------------

7/25/2019 9:17:53 a.m.
Welcome to Ambit Chat. Ambit Energy will never ask you to disclose personal details or non-Ambit account numbers through live chat. Please do not share personal account numbers, including credit card and social security, through live chat.

9:17:53 a.m.
Interaction transferred to Chat_TX_EN.

9:17:53 a.m.
Interaction alerting Glen.

9:17:53 a.m.
Glen has joined the conversation.

Glen
9:18:05 a.m.
Hi! This is Glen. Thank you for contacting us through Ambit Chat. How can I help you?


A5667*** | Rebecca Gates | (214) 779-****
9:19:23 a.m.
Hi Glen - I'm am Rebecca Gates - I set up a payment arrangement yesterday - went online to make my 'initial' payment of $100.00. selected the 'other amount' option - and to my amazing surprise - after I selected 'submit payment' button - the full amount was taken

9:19:49 a.m.
I called in immediately and told my tale to the customer rep

9:20:23 a.m.
was sent to the escalation dept after my request - and was told flat out that there is nothing Ambit could do because it was a 'past due' amount

9:20:27 a.m.
and I did it online...

9:21:59 a.m.
so I am pleading here trying to figure out - because now my bank account is over drawn - even though I set up a deferred payment plan with Ambit and something glitched - I am now faced with the payment getting returned, a nsf fee from my bank plus whatever returned payment fee Ambit will tack on because you can

9:23:03 a.m.
so I'm asking one more time - is there ANYTHING that Ambit can do to fix this situation?? All I wanted when I called in yesterday was for the amount of the 'overpayment' of $257.22 be refunded so I wouldn't be in this situation.

Glen
9:23:39 a.m.
Thanks for verifying your name.


9:23:47 a.m.
I understand how difficult this may be for you.


9:24:29 a.m.
If you want to cancel a transaction with check you need to contact your bank. However Ambit will apply a $25.00 rejected payment fee.


A5667*** | Rebecca Gates | (214) 779-****
9:25:09 a.m.
How is this fair??

9:25:21 a.m.
I will still have to pay a cancellation fee with my bank as well

9:25:53 a.m.
I loose money to this idiotic situation because no one on Ambit's side of things is willing to help or fix the situation

9:26:11 a.m.
seriously - do you see how messed up this is???

Glen
9:28:00 a.m.
I understand your concern Ma'am. Unfortunately those are the policies.


A5667*** | Rebecca Gates | (214) 779-****
9:29:48 a.m.
there is absolutely nothing Ambit can do to help out in this situation??? AT ALL??

9:30:02 a.m.
Except recommend I cancel this payment and incur more fees

Glen
9:30:40 a.m.
Yes Ma'am. Because we can not cancel the payment.


A5667*** | Rebecca Gates | (214) 779-****
9:31:24 a.m.
fantastic Glen - 5 stars for not being a real human and trying to work with a customer.

9:31:54 a.m.
there's obvious nothing else that I can do except sit here and wait for my lights to get shut off

9:32:14 a.m.
have a fantastic day Glen...know you and this company have ruined mine

Glen
9:32:48 a.m.
In addition to help you checking your account status, is there anything else I can assist you with?


A5667*** | Rebecca Gates | (214) 779-****
9:33:00 a.m.
no

Glen
9:33:06 a.m.
Thank you for using Ambit Chat and have a wonderful day!


9:33:08 a.m.
Agent has left the conversation

9:33:08 a.m.
You have been disconnected from the chat

Becca
July 25th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worse energy company Ive ever in my entire life had.

(1 / 5)

  I absolutely hate this company. If I didnt HAVE ago use it because its the only company my Apts provide I definitely WOULDNT. They have the worse customer service!!! I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE! They shouldnt even be in business! HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE!

HateThisCompang!
July 15th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

do not get energy with them ambit energy

(1 / 5)

  i have been on 1 year contract with them and bill is at almost 300 when i dont use energy til after 6pm to 11 tells me the times we waste more energy are from 5 am to 12 pm no one is home at that time and everything is off and from 9 pm to 5 am everyone is asleep jus use one night light for my kids room and for them thats when i mostly use energy really?? i asked if they could come check there meter because i feel im being over charged and they wanted to charge me 30$ for coming to check something that its theirs why would i wanna pay more money after i have 300 light bills for a 1400 sqft home with no one during the day 4 people living here

Ambit energy
March 13th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cheaper than competitors and $0.00 cancellation fee since I'm in Illinois

(5 / 5)

  After comparing different companies, I decided to go with Ambit. Not only because they had the best rates, but they didn't charge a service fee (like Spark) or a $50.00 cancellation fee like Constellation. Hands down, they are the best.

What I found odd was, that many companies (including electricityrate. com, and ilenergratings. com), claim they provide us with the cheapest rates, but neither of these companies provided me with Ambit's rates. Why, when Ambit is cheaper than all the other companies they listed??? I have yet to get a response from either company on why they are misleading customers by being deceitful.

Tired of all the games
February 28th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Who wrote most of these reviews???

(5 / 5)

  I am a Ambit customer in Illinois. I seen some of the reviews and wonder where in the world did this happen??? There is no contact, no fees, and you can opt out any time you feel you are not being treated right. I know Big Oil companies hire people to write bad and false reviews then tell you a "better" company to turn to. I am very happy saving 15 to 30% on my bill. Savings depends on time of year.

Lee
February 24th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

exelet...................

(5 / 5)

  Fantastic Eletric Company.....................

Andres
January 20th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price




Example Bill
loading...